Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2014, 07:49 AM   #1
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Analog Coleman Mach Thermostat

Trying to stay warm this morning in 28 degree Ohio weather. Had the thermostat set on 62 and when I got up the temp inside was 53 and the furnace has not come on. Had to slide the temp control up to 69 and then it kicked on. Have noticed this thermostat is off quite a bit in the past. Seems like 8-9 degrees is a pretty large variance though.
Was wondering what your experience has been with this thermostat.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 330
I replaced mine with a digital Coleman Mach thermostat because of that.
__________________

__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:13 AM   #3
GC
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 43
Was the digital pretty easy to install? Where did you get?How much variance do you notice with it.
Thanks
__________________
GC
garycarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 1,176
RV Digital Thermostat Upgrade | ModMyRV

This oughta help you out.
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Timex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Hattiesburg, MS
Posts: 1,658
One of the single best mods I have done to my TT. I had to do a lot of studying on which wire controlled what but with some experimentation(and a blown fuse) I got it done. I don't have a toggle switch for the fan hi/lo modes. Just used the lo fan because there was a not a lot of difference in the output between the hi/lo other than the noise level. And I use an oscillating tower fan anyway to help circulate the air. During the colder times, I will bump up the temp when my wife comes out of the shower and then bump it back down after she's out. With the analog stat, I was constantly moving it up and down. NO MORE! I can't believe the manufacturers still put these analogs in their rigs. We're not talking about a lot of money here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0070.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	281.4 KB
ID:	66034   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0065.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	427.9 KB
ID:	66035  
__________________
2012 Flagstaff V Lite 30 WRLTS
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 5.7 Mag Hemi 3.72 Rearaxle
Nights camped 2015 = 23
Nights camped 2016 = 25
Nights camped 2017 = 13
Nights camped 2018 = 3
Timex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Trying to stay warm this morning in 28 degree Ohio weather. Had the thermostat set on 62 and when I got up the temp inside was 53 and the furnace has not come on. Had to slide the temp control up to 69 and then it kicked on. Have noticed this thermostat is off quite a bit in the past. Seems like 8-9 degrees is a pretty large variance though.
Was wondering what your experience has been with this thermostat.
Thanks
Get this stat off Amazon Coleman mach #8330-3362 it's digital with plus or minus 1 degree. Cost 69.00...
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10,339
To turn a phrase, digital tstats are the best thing since sliced bread. I replaced my analog about the 3rd time out.
__________________
1988 Coleman Sequoia - popup (1987-2009) - outlasted 3 Dodge Grand Caravans!
2012 Roo19 - hybrid (2012-2015)

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 03:06 PM   #8
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,792
There is another similar thread to this going on...yes the analog slide thermostats are crap! Way too much temp variance...I will be changing mine to the Coleman gljurczyk suggests.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 05:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by WFD View Post
There is another similar thread to this going on...yes the analog slide thermostats are crap! Way too much temp variance...I will be changing mine to the Coleman gljurczyk suggests.
Yes, there is I was tring to help this guy yesterday but he wanted to run his blower A/C at the same time as the furnace and when I looked up the sub base wiring I told him it wouldn't do what he wanted to do and it was a Honeywell set back. So I looked and found this one, I'm getting one to. the difference is minus or plus 1 degree. Make sure you plug the wall hole the wires come through or you get false temp readings....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:03 AM   #10
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,792
Is that because the air from the wall hole is perhaps warmer or cooler than the inside temp and the stat is picking that up? Plug the hole with something like an expandable foam insulation from a pressurized can? Or just standard insulation?
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 03:23 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,096
Exactly, If you get any air coming through the hole, Your stat will read that and throw your temp off. Foam will work as long as you shave it flat or just some insulation. It might be hard if you had to pull new wire with foam once it gets hard. That is the biggest cause of wide swings in temps. It's a good stat, by the reviews I have read. But remember they are reviews. I use Amazon a lot and they watch what people put in there answer questions review. I checked alot of other forums also.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 07:24 AM   #12
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by WFD View Post
Is that because the air from the wall hole is perhaps warmer or cooler than the inside temp and the stat is picking that up? Plug the hole with something like an expandable foam insulation from a pressurized can? Or just standard insulation?
A simple pc of duct tape or pipe insulation will suffice and will not be as messy.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 08:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
cat1956's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Chelsea, Alabama
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Was the digital pretty easy to install? Where did you get?How much variance do you notice with it.
Thanks
The wires are color coded. I got mine off eBay and there is about +- 1degree variance
__________________
Tommy and Wanda
2014 Flagstaff 27RLWS
2017 Ram 1500 5.7 Hemi
Equal-i-zer 1,200/12,000 Weight Distribution w/ 4-Point Sway Control
cat1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 08:13 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by garycarson View Post
Was the digital pretty easy to install? Where did you get?How much variance do you notice with it.
Thanks
If you get the Coleman and I suggest you do. it will mount even in the same whole in the wall. It is all color coded, so really your changing the same wires to the same connection. The sub base is what will do the switching for you. A hunter is cheaper but then you get into adding a spdt switch to control the 2 speed fan if wanted. If you put a honeywell in your color code and terminals will be different also. Still do able just mark your wires as you take them off. Honeywell will use the same base for like 20 different stats so you would have to read and use there terms for your wires.... PS: any digital stat should be plus or minus 1 degree only. If more take it back.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 10:19 AM   #15
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,792
Some digital stats can even be set for a 1/2 degree variance....the one I put in the house is that way....it's awesome, but I think a 1 degree variance would be fine.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:00 PM   #16
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,792
Does anybody know if the Coleman Mach Model 8330-3862 is the same as the 8330-3362 that has been discussed in this thread, with the only difference being that it is black? By the pictures the front seems the same.
If I can get in in black I would rather go that route since all our switches and control panel in that area are all black...not the end of the world if I go white but if it's available in black I would rather go that route.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 12:15 PM   #17
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by WFD View Post
Does anybody know if the Coleman Mach Model 8330-3862 is the same as the 8330-3362 that has been discussed in this thread, with the only difference being that it is black? By the pictures the front seems the same.
If I can get in in black I would rather go that route since all our switches and control panel in that area are all black...not the end of the world if I go white but if it's available in black I would rather go that route.
I'm pretty sure that's what I have and if it is, you CANNOT run the ac blower with the stat set to heat. The no.s on the back are P.N. AR7853 & R.V.P. No. 8330-386 The no. inside is PCB1320-2A
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:35 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 357
What voltage do the residential thermostats people are using to swap for RV analog units run at?

Do they depend on batteries for RV operation or will they run on the RV's 12 volts?
I see no mention of batteries for the Coleman 8330-386 so I'm guessing this one run's off 12V.

Planning on swapping my two Coleman analog thermostats for digital units, and prefer the cost of the residential units but would also prefer possible operation without batteries.
__________________
2017 Open Range - Light 297RLS, BX1 Gooseneck
2014 Ram 2500 4x4 CCSB 6.7L 68RFE
offroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 01:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,096
It runs on 12volt no batteries. You can check airexcel, I think thats how you spell it, they are the supplier. I have seen them from 29.95 to 69.95 same stat #'s. Post 17 is correct on the operation.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 10:31 PM   #20
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,792
I went in to a local RV dealer to see their price on a Coleman Mach 8330-3862, to compare before ordering online. Parts guy there told me that in order to know for sure that stat will work, he would need to know the exact model number of the A/C unit. Told him the trailer was a 2014 model with the Coleman Mach A/C unit, said that wasn't enough to know for sure that the stat would work. Told me to climb onto the roof, remove the a/c cover where I could then read the model numbers off the plate that will be on the unit. I found that bizarre given the number of folks in here that have made the swap, but then I chalked it up to another case of the dealer being full of sh**...not that it ever happens! What say you to his reasoning? I didn't buy it from him and won't because he wants $50 more than I get it for through Amazon.
__________________

__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 PM.


×