Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2013, 09:39 PM   #1
Paul & Sheri
 
pwb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 237
Analog TV?

This time last year we bought our 2013 model Rockwood. We almost always dry camp so we rarely use the Toshiba TV that came with it . The two times we camped last year with power we had cable and the tv worked well. While de-winterizing tonight I turned on the tv on the antenna and received one station with about 20 local digital broadcasts, I turns out the one is an analog re-broadcast. The tv is analog! When did they stop making them, 2007? It must have been in the Rockwood warehouse for years and I got the lucky tv. I guess I'll pick up a converter.
__________________

__________________
2012 F150 F/X 4, 6cyl EcoBoost with Max tow pkg
2013 Rockwood 8280WS 5th wheel
2006 Sunline T1950
2004 T@B T-16
pwb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:42 PM   #2
daydreaming about camping
 
jeeplj8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KC area
Posts: 1,400
seriously?!?! post your model number, that is hard to believe. Could it maybe be dual band and there is a setting wrapped deep inside a menu that you have to have 11 year old tech support to find? Not that I ever have to use my 11 year old tech support...
__________________

__________________

2013 Coachmen Freedom Express 320BHDS pulled by a 2005 F250 King Ranch CC

A rainy day camping is better than a sunny day at work.
jeeplj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:48 PM   #3
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
I am also curious on this. Did do a programming search. Digital is not like analog and the TV literally has to seach for the channels and put them in memory. You can't just enter 12-1 and expect to get it. Also, make sure your antenna is pointing towards the towers. Most of my channels at home are North and slightly east of me. I point it north and fine tune it when I select the channel.
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:59 PM   #4
Paul & Sheri
 
pwb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeeplj8 View Post
seriously?!?! post your model number, that is hard to believe. Could it maybe be dual band and there is a setting wrapped deep inside a menu that you have to have 11 year old tech support to find? Not that I ever have to use my 11 year old tech support...
The model is Toshiba 32C11OU1 and it didn't come up on a search. I'd have better luck spotting it on Antiques Roadshow I think.
__________________
2012 F150 F/X 4, 6cyl EcoBoost with Max tow pkg
2013 Rockwood 8280WS 5th wheel
2006 Sunline T1950
2004 T@B T-16
pwb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
Paul & Sheri
 
pwb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChooChooMan74 View Post
I am also curious on this. Did do a programming search. Digital is not like analog and the TV literally has to seach for the channels and put them in memory. You can't just enter 12-1 and expect to get it. Also, make sure your antenna is pointing towards the towers. Most of my channels at home are North and slightly east of me. I point it north and fine tune it when I select the channel.
In this area I'm right on top of the local transmitters (10 milea away) and the manual includes no instructions to "search" as I have for my small 12v tv. It says to tune to local channels. The manual doesn't mention either Digital or Ananlog anyplace. At first I thought it might not have a receiver until it did pick up one channel that I googled and found is an analog re-broadcast in this area.
__________________
2012 F150 F/X 4, 6cyl EcoBoost with Max tow pkg
2013 Rockwood 8280WS 5th wheel
2006 Sunline T1950
2004 T@B T-16
pwb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:14 PM   #6
Engineer of Crazy Train
 
ChooChooMan74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tiverton, RI
Posts: 1,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwb01 View Post

The model is Toshiba 32C11OU1 and it didn't come up on a search. I'd have better luck spotting it on Antiques Roadshow I think.
The O oh is a 0 zero.

http://support.toshiba.com/support/m...eeText=3050766
__________________
TV - 2015 Ram Truck EcoDiesel
TV - 2006 Jeep Liberty Turbo Diesel (Retired to Daily Driver)
TT - 2015 Rockwood Roo 183
Locomotive Engineer
Nights Camping --- 2015 - 19 Camped | Winterized -- 2014 -18
Come read my Camping Blogs
ChooChooMan74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 58
Just did a quick search and it appears your tv is digital and 720P and therefore should get over the air signals. You will have to do a digital search before you will be able to see them.
__________________
Gregg, Karen and Devin


2013 Shamrock 23IKSS
2012 F150 FX4 5.0L
Engauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:15 PM   #8
William
 
WEMig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 560
First off, ensure that your antenna booster button is pressed, in which you should see a light indicating it is on. Then you should go into the menu of your TV and ensure that "Antenna" is selected rather than cable. Next, there should be on option to search channels. Your TV will scan the local area and store all digital and analog channels it can receive via the antenna. If this doesn't work, you should check all of your cable connections from your antenna to your TV.
__________________
2012 Crusader 320RLT
2011 F250 Lariat 6.7L
2016 (19 Nights Camped/1348 Miles)
2015 (38 Nights Camped/3560 Miles)
2014 (28 Nights Camped/1980 Miles)
2013 (30 Nights Camped/1411 Miles)
WEMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:24 PM   #9
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
If your TV is analog, it wouldn't be able to receive ANY over-the-air channels, as far as I know, since the entire TV industry went digital about 5 years ago. The $60 converter boxes are the only way to get signals that a pure analog set can read.

We have an '02 rig, which pre-dates all that digital crap. At home we're on Comcast and have the set-top boxes and a DVR which convert the digital signals to show on our 4:3 analog TV sets. Comcast has its own unique digitisation which, as far as I know, isn't compatible with any digitally compliant TV set in the world.

We don't watch TV that much, except for news, Public TV and whatever channel carries Coronation Street (Vancouver BC's Channel 2 in our area). DW is a "Corrie" addict as we're from that part of England originally.

We took the bedroom TV out of the RV. We don't even watch TV in the bedroom at home, so why would we want it in the RV?

Most CGs we frequent have cable, and we have a cable connection in one of the cargo compartments. We found, last season, that Comcast has screwed up many CG cable offerings because their current, relatively new system requires one of their converters, along with one of their remote controls. The CG has to allow the customer to take a Comcast set-top converter and a Comcast remote into their RV for the duration of their stay. What a PITA, not to mention the potential loss if a visitor forgets to return the hardware to the office when they leave.

We've decided that live TV isn't worth the the grief, at least until the cable companies get a grip on the problems, so we only use the TV set to watch DVD's. We get our news from radio (steam-powered, of course).
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 10:48 PM   #10
Paul & Sheri
 
pwb01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChooChooMan74 View Post
The O oh is a 0 zero.

LCD TV 32C110U1 Support | Toshiba
Thanks guys, with the zero correction I found a much more detailed manual than what came with the unit. It appears that it is a dual receiver and I had it set on analog. (I had no idea there was such a thing) After making a dual setting and search I now see the the 1 analog and 25 digital mixed together. Then I set it to digital only.

thanks again
__________________

__________________
2012 F150 F/X 4, 6cyl EcoBoost with Max tow pkg
2013 Rockwood 8280WS 5th wheel
2006 Sunline T1950
2004 T@B T-16
pwb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.