Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2013, 09:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Cable not working - how to hook up?

2013 Wildcat 344QB

The dealer was able to get the antenna to work show the TV's work, but when connecting to campground cable I get nothing. Neighbors cable works and I know there's a signal to mine.

I've had several other campers and have been able to locate the cable/antenna switch. But I can't find a splitter, booster or an ant/cable switch on the Wildcat. Only oddity is a jumper connection above the fridge in the upper cabinet, I'm not sure what that does. There's only one coax cable coming out from under the main tv to plug into.

__________________

__________________
chiefoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,702
Turn off your antenna switch. Black button on the connector face plate. Can hardly see mine, feel for it.
__________________

__________________

2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
2010 F250 4X4 5.4L 3.73 LS
EQUALIZER E4 1200/12000
lbrjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:30 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Where should the face plate be located? There's only a cable that comes out from under the tv. No standard wall plate a cable threads onto, just a cable with the male end extending out from a hole.
__________________
chiefoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Do you have TVs in other rooms? Maybe it's behind one of those.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:00 AM   #5
Senior Moment
 
rockport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 178
Should be antenna booster, little black button with green light on faceplate. Must be off for cable to work. Usually near main tv or entertainment center.
__________________
rockport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 05:43 PM   #6
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
Some CG's in areas served by Comcast have had their cable systems put out of reach to people who aren't Comcast TV customers. we came across this at the end of last season in Woodland WA. It had happened just a few days before we stayed there.

We have Comcast at the S&B, so we're familiar with it. Comcast went digital shortly after the national switch from analog over-the-air to digital. Of course, Comcast's digitisation is a different format, requires a proprietary decoder and takes the channel control away from the TV set to the Comcast box and a Comcast remote control. it's a PITA because the Comcast remote doesn't handle things like color and tint, so you have to keep the TV set's remote handy in case those need changing. Our old CRT TV's , both in the RV and the S&B, revert to the garish coloring of the factory settings if the power goes off. Of course, in the RV, the power goes off every time you move to another CG!

The CG in Woodland had no advance warning of the effect of the change and were told that they'd have to provide a set-top box and remote to each visitor! We haven't been back this season, so we aren't sure what the deal is.

We were at Jantzen Beach, in Portland OR, a few days ago and found (after the office had closed for the day) that we couldn't get a TV signal. When we tried to get the TV to "find available channels", it couldn't find any at all.

IMO, cable companies should be required to provide customers who have multiple users, like campgrounds, with global decoders so that all the sites have analog signals that will allow your TV to change channels, etc. Some CGs we've stayed at have satellite systems with a central converter that provides signals to the sites that are to the old NTSC analog standard.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 06:30 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
over all consensus says...

I have to wait until next weekend to find the switch. I agree there has to be a switch somewhere. I may have to get into the panel next to the radio where the cable comes out of.

Thanks for the advise everyone. Dealer wasn't this much help.
__________________
chiefoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 04:48 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefoh View Post
I have to wait until next weekend to find the switch. I agree there has to be a switch somewhere. I may have to get into the panel next to the radio where the cable comes out of.

Thanks for the advise everyone. Dealer wasn't this much help.
Look for something like this:
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.