Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2012, 05:47 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Namchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by DualSport View Post
Multiple TVs isn't the issue.

I just want to connect my Satellite receiver box to the HDTV in the Entertainment Centre (don't plan to use the bedroom TV or outside TV hookups). My Sat Receiver needs 2 inputs from the dish but there is only 1 sat-grade coax at the UDC external hookup (UDC - universal docking center in Forest River language).

The Satellite service provider says a "splitter/combiner/switch/whatever" will not work. I'm hoping that's just Company Policy and that someone has already found a box that will feed both receiver inputs from a single coax from my dish.
Try looking at thisstacker destacker unit
__________________

__________________
Time spent 2012 in TT 32 days so far and 21 Planned days this Fall with mini trips in between
2009 Chevy Silverado 1500
2012 XLR Hyper Lite 27HFS
1999 Yamaha Grizzly
1996 HD Dyna Wide Glide
Namchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:24 PM   #22
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
Looked at the link and the schematic diagram is EXACTLY what I want to do. It's for Sky TV in UK but I'll check this out further.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:48 PM   #23
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Namchief View Post
Try looking at thisstacker destacker unit
I tried to click on that to determine what it costs and it won't hook me up. Anyone have an idea? Looks expensive.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 11:43 PM   #24
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
I couldn't get the Price link to work but Googling "Stacker Destacker price" brought up lots of hits. Seems like it's about $150 but if that's the only way to get the two Sat signals into my RV without ripping open walls, etc then the price is OK for me.

All the hits I got were for UK companies as Sky TV seems to have gone the same route as my provider, Shaw Direct, and used a HD PVR that MUST have two separate signals from the LNBs on the dish..

I still need to find out what grade of Coax is in the "Cable" wiring in the LaCrosse. If it's the same as the "Satellite" coax then I can probably use both at the same time (assuming they both come out in the entertainment unit). I don't get the trailer for a week or so and I'll physically check how it's wired then. I'll probably also contact Forest River Tech Support and see if they can provide specs and schematics for this unit.

Thanks to all for the help
__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 02:09 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Namchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 145
Check this out DSS Stuff
and read this http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r181...-feed-possible
__________________
Time spent 2012 in TT 32 days so far and 21 Planned days this Fall with mini trips in between
2009 Chevy Silverado 1500
2012 XLR Hyper Lite 27HFS
1999 Yamaha Grizzly
1996 HD Dyna Wide Glide
Namchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 11:59 AM   #26
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
I read the links and this is starting to sound a bit too technical for a DIY job. I think I should contact a local Sat installer to see if they have done any work on RVs and know how to handle this.

Thanks.
__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 06:33 PM   #27
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Print out and show them the sat/cable mod.
I think they will like the KISS of it.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:48 PM   #28
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
I contacted Prime Time to find out the type of coax used for the "Satellite" and "Cable" connections. They confirmed today that all the coax in the Lacrosse 301RLS is the same type and is RG-6. They also said there were no wiring schematics available for the coax wiring.

There's lots of space behind the antenna booster/splitter switch, and it's beside the Sat outlet next to the TV, so I plan to do the mod suggested by Herk.

Thanks for everyone's help
__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:28 AM   #29
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
Got our new trailer on Friday and we're away on a shakedown trip. Just opened up the coax cabling and find PT used orange "RG6/U 3Ghz" coax for the SAT hookup and black "Coleman Cable 92003 RG6 CM or CL2 or CATV" for the CABLE hookup.

What PT told me was:
To answer a previous question, we use RG6 for satellite, for cable TV, and for roof antenna.

Guess I assumed that meant they used the SAME cable for all coax. I didn't bring my Sat dish, etc on this brief trip so experimenting will have to wait until next trip.

Does anyone know coax specs well enough to know if this black coax would handle a sat signal?

Bob
__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:54 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
ironj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,368
fyi, the standard rg6 will not generally support the operating frequency of the incoming sat feed from the dish.....the reason why you have a cable and a sat output is because the dish operates on a higher bandwidth than cable...although i have used short runs of standard rg6 and it has worked...its not really made to handle it well...

you CAN however use the cable feed to distribute the coax output of your reciever if it has one, which is generally modulated to a specific tv channel....(ie, put your tv on channel 62 and revieve cable feed from your reviever box)...since that output is designed to work on the standard cable bandwidth...

so to answer your question, you "MIGHT" be able to get a sat signal through standard rg6....but i highly doubt it....and if you did it would prob not support all the channels or my have poor signal quality and reception issues...
__________________

__________________
2015 F350 Platinum Fx4 6.7 Diesel Dually. B&W turnover, B&W Companion, air bags and wireless controller.
2015 Heartland Road Warrior 420 Rt
2012 f250 Fx4 6.7 Diesel crew cab tinted n tuned
2012 lacrosse 318bhs touring- sold
ironj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.