Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2012, 01:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
Cable/satellite Hookup??

I was wondering if the cable hookup on the back of my trailer will work for satellite and if not if there is anyway it could be modified to work for satellite?
__________________

__________________
gucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by gucci View Post
I was wondering if the cable hookup on the back of my trailer will work for satellite and if not if there is anyway it could be modified to work for satellite?
Take a picture of it, they are normally for cable and satellite. Left cable, right satellite.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 06:35 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Cable hookup will not work for satellite.
Only a "sat" hookup.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 44
There is only one outside hookup and it is clearly marked cable...I thought there might be some way I could modify this cable hookup so it would work for satellite...
__________________
gucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 11:52 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 21
I haven't installed a SAT system, but have experience with other electronic installations, so please don't take my advice as a final word.

Since you asked about what can be done to "upgrade" your system, I thought I'd chime in and try to give you some guidance.

From the technical specs I could find, it seems that there are a few factors that would affect whether or not you can use your existing CATV connection with your SAT system:
1) quality/type of coax cable in use
2) length of cable run
3) whether or not a splitter was used

Can someone chime in about whether there is any risk of him trying his SAT over the existing cable? From what I understand, the biggest risk seems that it wouldn't work.

In detail:
1) quality/type of coax cable in use
2) length of cable run
If you can read the numbers off the coax cable that is currently installed you might get some hints about the quality of cable/shielding in use. One type is better suited for CATV and another for SAT. However, on very short runs such as one you'd find in a trailer, the difference between the cables is less if high quality/well shielded cable was used in the original installation.

3) whether or not a splitter was used
If you have separate cable outlets in the trailer for a living room TV and a bedroom TV there will be a splitter located somewhere along the cable run. A CATV splitter is not compatible with a SAT system. SAT systems require "multiswitches" to split the feed.

To summarize:
Obviously you could hire a cable installed to replace the cable and connectors if needed, but I'm assuming this was a DIY request.

I expect that if you have two TV jacks and can remove the splitter (which might be right behind your entry panel) and replace it with a quality inline adapter (female-to-female, aka barrel connector or "cable joiner") you might then just need to try it and see if the quality is adequate.
__________________
Frogz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 12:59 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 652
I have found that a splitter after the receiver doesn't matter. Try taking the incoming cable that attaches to the plate that has your antenna booster on it and running that to your sat reciver. Run the coax from the receiver back to where you unhooked the incoming cable,or RCA,composite or HDMI directly to the tv. That should get you sat on the main tv. (It worked on my last trailer that had only one tv). But you lose cable option.
With two tv's, like I have now, I had to add an a/b switch for the bedroom connection.(top right on the back of the plate). and I had a separate sat wire coming in.
__________________
bob213 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 652
The "cable" coax on the back of the plate should be in the middle.
left: antenna
middle: cable
right: 2nd tv
__________________
bob213 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 07:51 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
There sure is. This issue was solved with this easy mod.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf satellite_rewire.pdf (957.8 KB, 796 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bob213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 652
Herk...I like your way alot better!
__________________
bob213 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
DS ADV Rider
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
There sure is. This issue was solved with this easy mod.
I cannot open your pdf file - error message says file damaged. Can you PM me please and arrange to e-mail the file?

Hopefully it might solve my problem. I just purchased a Lacrosse 301RLS and it has 2 co-ax connections - one for Satellite and one for Cable. My Sat TV HDPVR requires TWO sat cables (to allow recording 2 different channels at same time). I assumed I could just use one cable and lose the "dual tuner" feature. I tested my receiver with one coax connected and I can only receive the odd numbered channels. If I feed the cable to the second input I only get even number channels. Called Tech Support (at Shaw Direct TV) and they say "No problem. Don't use the RV wiring and just run 2 cables from the dish in through a window or door". Really, that's the only solution they have. My PVR - Motorola 630 - must have both inputs connected to separate cables from the dish.

Anyone using a Direct TV HD PVR and found a solution?

I suggested to the Tech that perhaps a "reverse splitter" could combine the two dish cables into one for connecting to the outside Sat connector but he said not to try it.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
DualSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.