Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 08:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
JDWeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the desert
Posts: 149
Calling all electronics experts, radio question

I am not real clear on how the tuners in the AM FM radios in our rigs work, so I have a question regarding the tuners. Can just a part of the tuner go bad?

Here is the background to the question. We have a concertone ZX690 in our coach. We have been in one place for the last 6 months or so and have our radio tuned to our favorite FM station. It plays every day and some days all day long on the same station. Just the last day or two, the station started not coming in, a lot of static and we can just barely hear the music in the static. Tune to another station and all is well, so I don't believe it is the antenna. I turned on other radios around the coach (I have an iHome with a radio in it) and they receive our favorite station just fine. Just today I dug out the Bose radio and it also receives the station just fine, so it is not the station. Checked the Concertone again today, and like the last 2 days, it will tune in other stations just fine, just not the one we like to listen to.

So do I have a problem with the radio that can be fixed or do we just have to change our taste in music?

I have not contacted Concertone yet because I was not sure that they would believe me, so I thought I would ask those of you that are well schooled in electronics first.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Jim
__________________

__________________
TV, 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 Quad cab short bed, Cummins 5.9, Edge Comp, Gauges.
5ver, 2011 Palamino Sabre 31 RETS.
JDWeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:58 AM   #2
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
I would not think that the tuner would go bad for one station. Certainly sounds bizarre. Double check your antenna connections for starters and your radio chassis ground.
__________________

__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JDWeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the desert
Posts: 149
Thanks for the reply Bob, i will check those items and post the results.
__________________
TV, 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 Quad cab short bed, Cummins 5.9, Edge Comp, Gauges.
5ver, 2011 Palamino Sabre 31 RETS.
JDWeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 09:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
kz08h5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Carmel, Indiana
Posts: 308
I would try removing power from the Concertone. Make sure you completely remove power, no shore or battery power. This will cause a reboot of the Concertone. Most radios these days are controlled by a microprocessor. Running for an extended period of time might have caused a problem.
__________________
kz08h5

2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax Crewcab
Jeep Commander - sold
Flagstaff V-Lite WRB26
kz08h5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JDWeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the desert
Posts: 149
Really good idea kz08h5, I don't know why I did not think of that, I have worked on computers for years and the first thing you do is "reboot"!

Funny thing is, today I tried the radio just for the heck of it and it is working . If I can get it to act up again, I will try all suggestions.

Thanks for all the suggestions!
__________________
TV, 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 Quad cab short bed, Cummins 5.9, Edge Comp, Gauges.
5ver, 2011 Palamino Sabre 31 RETS.
JDWeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 10:40 PM   #6
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
If I were you, to satisfy my curiosity as to whether it was the Radio Station's transmitter power, I'd call the station and ask if they were operating on an alternate (lower power) transmitter during your problem.

It is possible that the other receivers that you tried had more sensitive receivers and were able to "pull the station in".

RodeoGeorge
__________________
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,475
JD.. Since you have not moved in 6 months did anything move around you? Did another traveler come in to the place you are staying? Since the antenna for your radio is fixed and you have not moved I am wondering if you got interfered with by another camper. Just a thought..
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 11:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
JDWeir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the desert
Posts: 149
RodeoGeorge, good suggestion.

dalford, also a good suggestion, though all other rigs that are around us were here before the radio acted up.

Thanks guys!

__________________

__________________
TV, 2000 Dodge RAM 2500 Quad cab short bed, Cummins 5.9, Edge Comp, Gauges.
5ver, 2011 Palamino Sabre 31 RETS.
JDWeir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.