Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2013, 09:36 AM   #1

can't get picture from roof antenna

I am a newbie to this site so apologize if this question has already been answered. I have a new (to me) 2009 Rockwood 8315 BSS and am installing a new and larger tv. I have been able to connect satellite input and run it through the stereo for good sound, no problem; have also been able to set up the DVD which works well. Problem comes in with getting a signal from the roof antenna. It is up and properly directed toward local tv stations. I see the coax output labeled Tv with button beside it to turn on amplifier, understand that with light on I should get antenna reception, with light off should get cable (haven't tried as using dish satellite). Have connected that to my tv but no reception, tried auto scan etc. Wonder if I should be connecting to the other faceplate right behind the tv? This is a Concertone LCD wall plate and has four connections (antenna, 12v, video, and tv audio) Am using only the video cable to get DVD, not using any of the other. What is the antenna connection for? , 12V? and tv audio? Would appreciate any thoughts or suggestions. Thank you. Roger
alpine skiing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 09:52 AM   #2

When you do the scan, make sure your TV is set for "air" instead of "cable" first. I would think you should be connecting your TV coax to the jack on the switch/amplifier control (but I'm not familiar with your rig).
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 10:23 AM   #3

Unhappy

Thanks for prompt response, have checked those things, every connection, still just not getting even a fuzzy picture, am convinced it's something in the way I have it connected. Does anyone know what those other plugs are for in the concertone LCD faceplate....antenna?, dc? tv audio?
Old 03-15-2013, 10:40 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus