Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2019, 04:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Coax connection NOT working

I wanted to see if anyone knows where the primary coax connection from the outside hits a splitter inside the motorhome? We tried to connect to coax cable over the weekend and when I connected it to the panel port and scanned for channels none were found. When I connected the cable directly into the back of the TV and re scanned everything showed up.


Thanks in advance
__________________

With the Winns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:44 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by With the Winns View Post
I wanted to see if anyone knows where the primary coax connection from the outside hits a splitter inside the motorhome? We tried to connect to coax cable over the weekend and when I connected it to the panel port and scanned for channels none were found. When I connected the cable directly into the back of the TV and re scanned everything showed up.


Thanks in advance
Do you mean "Coax connection NOT working"?
__________________

__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:45 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Yes, it's NOT working.

Thank you for catching that
With the Winns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:46 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 12,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by With the Winns View Post
Thank you for catching that
Fixed
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 =111/'19 = 86; booked = 0
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:50 PM   #5
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by With the Winns View Post
I wanted to see if anyone knows where the primary coax connection from the outside hits a splitter inside the motorhome? We tried to connect to coax cable over the weekend and when I connected it to the panel port and scanned for channels none were found. When I connected the cable directly into the back of the TV and re scanned everything showed up.


Thanks in advance
Have you made sure that the OTA amplifier button on the wall plate is in the "OFF" position ?
__________________
'04 K3500 Silverado LS with LS3 Connect & Cruise- with Intimidator SSI PKG- Reprogrammed 4L80E
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
I did, and i made sure that the tv scanned for Cable with no luck. Like i mentioned, when I connected it directly into the outside TV i was able to pull over 50 cable stations.


Not sure if there is a cable routing schematic for the rig, or if this is something that the dealer needs to do.
With the Winns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:11 PM   #7
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by With the Winns View Post
I did, and i made sure that the tv scanned for Cable with no luck. Like i mentioned, when I connected it directly into the outside TV i was able to pull over 50 cable stations.


Not sure if there is a cable routing schematic for the rig, or if this is something that the dealer needs to do.
Unfortunately, cable schematics for these rigs rarely exist. Which type of wall plate do you have?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	winegard.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	219456  
__________________
'04 K3500 Silverado LS with LS3 Connect & Cruise- with Intimidator SSI PKG- Reprogrammed 4L80E
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:21 PM   #8
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,072
If you have both cable and sat connectors on the outside of the RV, just connect the park cable to the Sat connector and switch the tv coax to the Sat connector on the inside.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Delaware
Posts: 155
Just to add my two cents,,I found mine behind the radio in my travel trailer and they could also be behind the wall plate that has the amplifier button on it. I did hear a horror story of one being buried in a wall nowhere near any access point. If you know an electrician, there are tools that can trace wires buried in walls and you can trace their path. WE HAVE THE TECHNOLOGY!!
__________________
TT: 2018 Coachmen Catalina
243rbs(rear bath) legacy edition
TV: 2017 Ram 1500
Lee Pedrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 05:44 PM   #10
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 1,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If you have both cable and sat connectors on the outside of the RV, just connect the park cable to the Sat connector and switch the tv coax to the Sat connector on the inside.
X2. That is exactly what I was going to suggest if the OP replied back that he had the 7542 wall plate. That is the way mine works.
__________________
'04 K3500 Silverado LS with LS3 Connect & Cruise- with Intimidator SSI PKG- Reprogrammed 4L80E
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 07:47 PM   #11
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally Posted by With the Winns View Post
I wanted to see if anyone knows where the primary coax connection from the outside hits a splitter inside the motorhome?
I see you have a 2019 but I do not see the model of your motorhome.

Our Georgetown GT5 has a switch box in a cabinet over the TV but you can't see it unless you're over 6' tall. It has a slide switch on it for Antenna/Cable/Satellite.

Do you have such a switch? If you don't know, that's what I'd go hunting for.

Ray
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TV Switch Box.PNG
Views:	29
Size:	1.15 MB
ID:	219477  
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 09:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: NE Wyoming
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If you have both cable and sat connectors on the outside of the RV, just connect the park cable to the Sat connector and switch the tv coax to the Sat connector on the inside.
I had same problem and found a loose connection behind the outside connection. It was also wired wrong. They swapped cable connections behind the panel. Never did find the splitter. Bama Rambler found the same solution I ended up with. Works like a charm.
Grumpy7159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 09:41 PM   #13
Newbie- 21 FBRS
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If you have both cable and sat connectors on the outside of the RV, just connect the park cable to the Sat connector and switch the tv coax to the Sat connector on the inside.
We tried to use Cable Tv for the first time today. Used OTA previously. No channels on the cable connection. I swapped as you indicated and all 32 advertised channels were there. Now, WHY does the cable connection not work? Is it just cabled incorrectly?
Coevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 09:55 PM   #14
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 19,755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coevers View Post
We tried to use Cable Tv for the first time today. Used OTA previously. No channels on the cable connection. I swapped as you indicated and all 32 advertised channels were there. Now, WHY does the cable connection not work? Is it just cabled incorrectly?
Did you turn the OTA booster switch off?
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 07:35 AM   #15
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,072
The 'Cable' input usually runs through a splitter and a lot of times it's hidden in the wall or elsewhere, and a lot of times they're not wired correctly, or they have bad connection(s). It's usually easier to just swap to the 'Sat' connector than to try and chase down the 'Cable' issue.

Also, the Sat coax is a straight run (no splices, etc.) between the outside and inside F-connectors.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 07:58 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
The 'Cable' input usually runs through a splitter and a lot of times it's hidden in the wall or elsewhere, and a lot of times they're not wired correctly, or they have bad connection(s). It's usually easier to just swap to the 'Sat' connector than to try and chase down the 'Cable' issue.

Also, the Sat coax is a straight run (no splices, etc.) between the outside and inside F-connectors.
Yes but that splitter is typically the booster on/off plate (Winegard panel) where one of the plate outputs is for the main tv and one output is for a second tv and that output could go to a splitter for more than one other tv. This arrangement is why the booster must be selected off for cable viewing.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 08:54 AM   #17
Newbie- 21 FBRS
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
Did you turn the OTA booster switch off?
I did- I had seen your comment also on this thread. I scanned cable both on/off and scanned AIR. As well. Only one channel where we are camping.
Coevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 08:58 AM   #18
Newbie- 21 FBRS
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
The 'Cable' input usually runs through a splitter and a lot of times it's hidden in the wall or elsewhere, and a lot of times they're not wired correctly, or they have bad connection(s). It's usually easier to just swap to the 'Sat' connector than to try and chase down the 'Cable' issue.

Also, the Sat coax is a straight run (no splices, etc.) between the outside and inside F-connectors.
I must have an incorrectly wired connection. I got no signal at all on the cable connection, but worked fine on SAT. Thanks!
Coevers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 09:15 AM   #19
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coevers View Post
I must have an incorrectly wired connection. I got no signal at all on the cable connection, but worked fine on SAT. Thanks!
Not uncommon and there have been many reports here of such.

You can start by removing the wall plate and looking at the connections. Also, often times there are splitters shoved back in the hole where the wall plate attaches.

You could have a bad connection, a bad cable, a staple/screw/nail through a cable, etc.
__________________

__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '16=46 '17=30 '18=51 '19=53
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 AM.


×