Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2014, 04:11 PM   #181
Junior Member
 
Cinerama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alaska
Posts: 12
To Bob Fields: I got the GT-30 installed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fields View Post
I hear what you are saying, but as a manufacturer I definitely believe in the authorized distribution channels as they have agreed as sales partners to take care of you (our mutual customer).

Also to be clear, I can help with troubleshooting instructions, but I don't work for the maker of these units.

I hope it all works out!

Hi Bob, here is my follow up to the unit I purchased from the private seller on eBay.. I received the GT-30 as advertised. All new and everything still sealed. Removed the old unit (ZX500), installed the optional adapter plug kit purchased from concertone, plugged all wires into the new unit and slid it into place. Everything went great. TV, surround sound, outside entertainment center, DVD player, rear bedroom all work . My wife and I took it for a week long test drive over the Denali Highway (a VERY rough, 125 miles of 15 mph dirt road 200 miles north of Anchorage) and everything still works. I hope this unit lasts as long as the last one (8 years).
Thanks for all of your input and concerns.
__________________

__________________

2006 Lexington 283 GTS
1998 Saturn SL2 toad
Cinerama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 05:56 PM   #182
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
I have a Concertone RV 2004D that lost the ability to read DVDs 2 years ago (three?) this year when I power it up I get a red light (getting power) and nothing else. No display or sound of any kind. I pulled the unit out, disconnected it, pulled and reinserted the fuse and still get nothing.
Any ideas or am I just screwed?
__________________

__________________
ZChurchZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 06:09 PM   #183
Junior Member
 
Cinerama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alaska
Posts: 12
ZchurchZ - try a reset?

On my unit you hold down the mode button for 10 seconds to reset it. It should tell you how to do it in your manual. If you need a manual you should be able to download it from concertone.com
Good luck.
__________________

2006 Lexington 283 GTS
1998 Saturn SL2 toad
Cinerama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:28 PM   #184
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinerama View Post
On my unit you hold down the mode button for 10 seconds to reset it. It should tell you how to do it in your manual. If you need a manual you should be able to download it from concertone.com
Good luck.
I have no "mode" button. There is a 'function' button and pressing it (and every other button on the unit) for 10 seconds had no visible effect.

I downloaded the manual and unfortunately there was no troubleshooting section.....
__________________
ZChurchZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 08:04 AM   #185
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
If disconnecting the radio from power and reconnecting (the only way to reset these old units) did not work, then unfortunately you will need to replace. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news...


Quote:
Originally Posted by ZChurchZ View Post
I have no "mode" button. There is a 'function' button and pressing it (and every other button on the unit) for 10 seconds had no visible effect.

I downloaded the manual and unfortunately there was no troubleshooting section.....
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 09:47 PM   #186
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Assumed as much . Going to try for a car DVD rerofit.
__________________
ZChurchZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 12:01 PM   #187
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 659
Question about 5.1 audio through optical input

Looks like this question has been touched on but with no real answers. I have a 2015 Rockwood with the Toshiba TV and Genesis GT3.0 system. Initially the audio from the TV was fed to the GT3.0 just by L/R coax via the AU2 setting (because the only thing the TV initially received was OTA broadcasts).

I've just added a satellite receiver and BluRay player that feed the TV via HDMI 2 and 3. The TV will redirect the selected HDMI audio bitstream out its optical connection and, with the appropriate optical cable in place, that comes up as AU3 on the GT3.0.

My problem is that I can't see any way to get any kind of bass/treble/EQ adjustment on the optical input - those options just don't show up on the unit's display when you cycle through the 'Audio setup' functions while on AU3. With no EQ, the audio is weak and flat and the AU2 (stereo) input is far superior.

The manual is no help - barely mentions optical or surround setup at all and nothing about actually using the optical input - and there's nothing better than that skimpy manual on Concertone's website.

Is there a trick I'm missing?
__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 03:49 PM   #188
Junior Member
 
Cinerama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Alaska
Posts: 12
EQ settings

Dave, it may be that the Genesis settings only affect the internal hardware. Did you try adjusting the settings through your TV audio settings menu?
__________________

2006 Lexington 283 GTS
1998 Saturn SL2 toad
Cinerama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 04:37 PM   #189
Senior Member
 
GreenImp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 452
Send a message via MSN to GreenImp
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZChurchZ View Post
Assumed as much . Going to try for a car DVD rerofit.

I ditched the GT 3.0 and went with a home receiver and couldn't be happier. The TV can't be used without AC hooked up or an inverter installed anyway. A receiver designed to work with low impedance loads (due to the RV's using "car" speakers) would be preferred. I also replaced the Concertone SW-4 "subwoofer" with a non-powered Bose Acoustimass Bass Module. Unlike the Genesis/Concertone products, this setup actually works great and does not disappoint.

I did consider going the car DVD player route as a friend of mine had just done, but digital inputs for surround sound or HD video (I use a media player exclusively...no DVD's), and on screen menus are incredibly hard to find...if not impossible.
__________________
'04 GMC Sierra 2500HD, CCSB, D/A, MaxBrake, B&W Companion, Retrax Pro, AR Power Steps
2013 Rockwood 8289WS w/Diamond pkg
1969 Camaro RS/SS Convertible
Dad's old 1968 Empi Imp (recently recovered from under 21 years worth of boxes/dust)
GreenImp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 10:18 AM   #190
Senior Member
 
DaveSchwartz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Waterloo Region
Posts: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cinerama View Post
Dave, it may be that the Genesis settings only affect the internal hardware. Did you try adjusting the settings through your TV audio settings menu?
I checked that out and its not possible... the TV's own audio controls are disabled when the TV speakers are turned off, which you obviously want to do when feeding the audio into the Genesis by either stereo coax or optical (there's a time-delay echo if you don't).

The EQ settings in the Genesis seem to be common for both the AU2 and AU3 inputs. When you change them when on AU2 input (where they have an audible effect) the same settings are present when you switch to the AU3 mode - you can even change them in AU3, they just have no effect.

It seems like the audio EQ module has just been omitted from the sound processing pipeline in AU3 mode. Its possibly just a bug that could be corrected with a software update (this unit probably runs a Linux kernel like so many things do these days - the front panel has an update port for this).

Guess I'll have to contact Concertone support.
__________________

__________________
2015 Rockwood Signature UltraLite 8282WS Platinum, GY Marathon LRD, TST 507RV TPMS
2005 GMC 2500HD CCSB D/A, Curt E16, Prodigy P2, Garmin RV760LMT w/BC-20 b/u cam

DaveSchwartz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.