Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2011, 11:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 32
Unhappy Conertone TV

Just used our 2006 rockwood 8317SS for the first time. We couldn't get the TV to get any stations off the antenna. Is the TV not digital or are we doing something wrong. When hook to cable it works fine. Help please. We need all the help we can get. This is all new to us. Went from a tent to this. I'm sure you can see our problem.
__________________

__________________
riwdfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:07 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
There must be an amplifier switch (a small round one) where you plugged the antenna cable. Did you turn it on ? A light should come on ....If you do not switch that thing on you won't receive any channels.
__________________

__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 32
Conertone TV

Thanks for your quick reply. Yes we did turn the antenna button on. We turned the antenna in all directions still nothing. Thats why we are thinking it has to do with everything having to be digital and we are out of luck. Sure hope not but it is from 2006.
__________________
riwdfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 12:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,973
Was the tv set for antenna. Use the tv menu to see what the settings are.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Ehlendt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Athens, AL
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to Ehlendt
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper View Post
Was the tv set for antenna. Use the tv menu to see what the settings are.
I'm with caper. Check to make sure your tv menu setting is set to antenna. I also "search" for channels each time I get to a new site. That function should be at the same place in you tv menu for setting to antenna. Your tv will do a search for all available stations.
__________________
John & Johnna
2005 Tahoe Z71
2010 Salem 26TBUD
Reese WD Hitch
"Get busy living.....or get busy dying."
Ehlendt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 32
Concertone

Thanks for all your great ideas but my husband tried all that. Thats about when he got frustrated and put a movie in. I told him not to worry, I would get on here today and see if anyone could help us out. 40 degree weather and no TV doesn't mix very well with husband. He's only out there camping in this weather to please me. Love him. We do try to go every weekend as long as the roads are clear and can find a open campground close by in NY or PA
__________________
riwdfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
camper_Lucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Camping some place I hope
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by riwdfw View Post
Just used our 2006 rockwood 8317SS for the first time. We couldn't get the TV to get any stations off the antenna. Is the TV not digital or are we doing something wrong. When hook to cable it works fine. Help please. We need all the help we can get. This is all new to us. Went from a tent to this. I'm sure you can see our problem.
Your antana is prior to the change to digital so you most likly need one of these to get the antenna to work, http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...-wingman/44021

Had the same problem and this was the fix.
__________________
2011 GMC 3500HD 4x4 Crew DRW Duramax
Pullrite 20.5K
2012 Sierra 365SAQ
2006 Police Roadking FLHPi
camper_Lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:57 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by riwdfw View Post
Thanks for your quick reply. Yes we did turn the antenna button on. We turned the antenna in all directions still nothing. That's why we are thinking it has to do with everything having to be digital and we are out of luck. Sure hope not but it is from 2006.
I think you hit it right on.

If the amp button shows green; you should get digital signals (assuming you are in range of a tower and pointed at it - the white box side in the direction of the tower). If your TV is not digital ready you will get "snow" on all channels without a converter box.

I have four of them if anyone in the forum still needs converter boxes. They only work "over the air" (No cable or Sat conversion) and output only low definition digital TV- RCA composite output. Ten bucks plus shipping (I am guessing another 5 bucks but could be less depending on where).

Everyone I know has finally gotten a new digital TV or have cable.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:58 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by camper_Lucy View Post
Your antana is prior to the change to digital so you most likly need one of these to get the antenna to work, Winegard Co - Winegard Wingman - Over-the-Air Antennas - Camping World

Had the same problem and this was the fix.
This is NOT required to get digital TV. It just extends the range of your existing Winguard Sensor antenna in the UHF range. See my other posts.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 01:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 32
Concertone

So you are saying if we get a new antenna that will solve the problem. I was afraid I would have to get a new TV. If that is the problem thank you what a relief it would be.
__________________

__________________
riwdfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.