Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2014, 05:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 12
Dealers Can't Give Me TV Answers!! Please Help

I have a 2006 Rockwood 8280 Fifth Wheel and would like to upgrade the television from the old style video monitor ran by the old Concertone set up to the Samsung 32" HD TV that I've purchased from Costco. Has anyone attempted this replacement? I'm not sure how to make the new connection, and still have the surround sound in the fifth wheel work. I've asked a couple of dealers' service department and they've been little to no help. The only way I received some channels on the new TV was to take the coax connection off of the Concertone and connect it directly to the Samsung. Does anyone know if this is the only way to make the new connection. Thanks in advance for any help.

Signed,
Frustrated in California
__________________

__________________
yzf02inblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,512
The coax connection from the antenna is the only way to receive signals. I assume you ran a 'channel scan' in the set up menu on the Samsung? The surround sound comes from the audio unit, not the Samsung which is only stereo (2 channel). The Concertone will process the audio signals from the Samsung and give you sound from all speakers. There should be RCA 'audio out' jacks (red and white) on your Samsung that you can run to the 'audio in' jacks on the Concertone. If you have the manual for the Concertone that might help with the connections.
__________________

__________________
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 12:13 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
There may not be an analog RCA "audio out" on your new TV. Check for a digital audio out. It may be an orange single RCA or a Toslink (optical) output. If so, depending on your model of Concertone (the Genesis and ZX-800 has optical/digital inputs on the rear), you may just need a cable or an analog to digital converter (with associated cables) if you have an older model.

Digital Coax & Optical Toslink to R/L Stereo Audio Converter - Monoprice.com

6ft Optical Toslink 5.0mm OD Audio Cable - Monoprice.com

or

a standard RCA mono male to RCA mono male (SHIELDED!) for the orange RCA digital output to COAX input on the ZX-800/Genesis

Use the HDMI output of your Concertone to connect the DVD output of the Concertone to your TV's HDMI input.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ZX-800 connections.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	52310  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 01:27 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 12
Thanks. I have the old Concertone, which doesn't have HDMI inputs.
__________________
yzf02inblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 02:31 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzf02inblue View Post
Thanks. I have the old Concertone, which doesn't have HDMI inputs.
Then you will most likely need the converter.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 09:57 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 12
ZX500

Herk, Thanks. I have the old ZX500 model from 2006. I tried connecting the RCA audio jacks from the concertone to the Samsung, but that didn't work. I might need the converter. Also, I'm not sure if the concertone has to be set to "Air"? Right now it's set to "Cable" and I can't figure out how to change it to "Air", which is what the TV is set to. Thanks again.
__________________
yzf02inblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 05:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rrickim63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 487
I have a similar set up for my 2006 as well. The only solution I could come up with is to use an external over the air digital to analog converter which supplies video for tv in SD and audio in stereo for sound going into aux inputs.

1999 Silverado with tow package

2006 Roo 23B hybrid
__________________
2006 Roo 23B hybrid

2006 Ford F150 4.6L
Rrickim63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2014, 06:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Reaching here a bit. Maybe try a Best Buy home theatre tech. Drive to the store and they might be able to figure it out. Technology is technology whether an RV or Home Theatre.

Brian
__________________

__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dealer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.