Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2015, 01:31 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 572
Dish Network?

Last month we bought a 211Z receiver and a Tailgater and had several issues which turned out to be a bad Tailgater and have since switched to a Wingard Pathway X2.

We had only taken one trip with the tailgater and as of yet havenít taken one with the new Pathway and I have a question.

When we are away from home, say in another state will we still have our local (Dallas/Ft Worth) channels?

If we lose them, will we be able to get ABC,CBS,NBC and FOX and if so how?

Not really concerned about local as I am about the big 4 so to speak.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 01:54 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 85
It all depends on how far you are from your home local stations. If you are relatively close, I don't remember the exact distance, you will still get them. If you are traveling far from home the satellite signal footprint will not allow you to get those locals channel signals. You will still get the "cable" channels though. If you are going to be in a given area long enough on your trip you can call Dish Network and they can change your "local" channels to the local area you are in and you will get those locals as long as you are in that areas local satellite footprint.
Upon arriving home you can call Dish Network and have your home "locals" restored. In order to change your locals you have to supply Dish with the local zip code and voila, local locals. If you are not interested in getting locals where you are the "cable channels" will always be available wherever you travel. With the proper set up of course. I've done this in many areas of the US and sometimes the CS Reps at Dish Network are great and the change in smooth. Other times I have to explain to them what to do. But yes, it can be done relatively easily.
__________________

__________________
2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax

2008 Rockwood Sig Ultra Lite 8315SS
Livin the Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 06:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jimmerinwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 110
Dish Network?

The "Spotbeam" for my locals is about 200 miles. If your out if your spotbeam, call Dish and only change your service address, not your billing address or you might end up sending your bill to the campground your at. Another option is to just use your off air antenna on your trailer for locals too.


Somedays I wake up Grumpy, somedays I just let her sleep......(Ray Scott)
__________________
Some days I wake "Grumpy", Some days I just let her sleep......(Ray Scott)
Jimmerinwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 572
So when I call dish and give them the new zip code, does this also effect my Hopper back at the house?
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:35 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
So when I call dish and give them the new zip code, does this also effect my Hopper back at the house?
Yes it'll effect your locals @ home.
You will no longer get your locals @ home for the same reason you didn't in the camper.

"Out of spot beam"

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded, 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 572
Well turds, kind of a double edge sword.
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:45 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
Well "TURDS", kind of a double edge sword.
Lol I've been called worse!

Yeah double edge sword.
Loose locals @ home or don't have locals where your @

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:47 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
DKRITTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 572
Haha,

I guess I should have said Poo Poo.
__________________
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 09:58 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKRITTER View Post
Haha,

I guess I should have said Poo Poo.
He answers to both..
__________________
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 10:02 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yarome View Post
He answers to both..
Obviously I do

TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "9 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.