Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2015, 08:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 430
Dish Network Service Address

What is the simplest way to change the service address when we travel.

We haven't had good luck when calling. Is it online chat?

DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 09:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
bubbles's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,802
I just call main number(800-333-3474) and punch through technical assistance (there probably are other ways) and tell them I'm in an RV and what I want to do and ask for local channels at my location. The address is what they ask for but I have also used Zip code and if no address (Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, etc.) I just give them that and it all works out. Takes a few minutes to come up for selection and have never had an issue for 3 years now.

bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 09:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Haslet Texas
Posts: 430
I was thinking there was a way to do it online.

We are at about 50% when we call and it seems to take 20 minutes when we do.
DKRITTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 10:18 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel,NJ
Posts: 2,862
Simple phone call. 10 minutes at the most usually. I just give them the zip where I am, done!
A32Deuce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,351
You can do it online. Login to your account and and look for chat. We used this once when we were out of cell service range. I always press the menu numbers for change television programming, then add programming packages, then press 0. I have done this at least 50 times and only a couple of times did the locals not get changed correctly. It has been a few months so the above referenced menu quotes are probably not perfect, but they should be close.

2010 F250 5.4L 3.73
2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Equal-i-zer 4pt 12K

2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
2010 F250 4X4 5.4L 3.73 LS
EQUALIZER E4 1200/12000
lbrjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
buffalohunter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Martinez, CA
Posts: 268
I usually just call but I have used "live chat" before and it worked really well. Can't hurt to give it a try, I think you will be satisfied with the result. I save the chat to a pdf file when we have completed the chat and that way I have a record of what was requested.
2012 Rockwood Windjammer 3008 W
2007 Tundra Reg Cab 4X4 SR5 5.7L
buffalohunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:42 PM   #7
Senior Member
NCBBA11043's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 112
I don't know if you are full-timing, or if you also have a primary residence. I have a Dish receiver in the 5er that we use during our camping season. I also have it at home. I have the home system set to record our favorites while we are away, including local channels. This summer while on vacation, I asked for "local" channels to be updated based upon our location. I did not know that was going to affect the home receiver (they are on the same account). Imagine my surprise when I got back home :-( Makes sense when you think about it, but back then I didn't.
NCBBA11043 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 12:49 PM   #8
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 38
Accessing DISH Network when outside home area -- Not always easy to do!

A little over a year ago, we got tired of cable service and decided to switch to DISH satellite service. We live in Southern California and have traveled across a lot of the U.S.

What the DISH representative described to us is NOT what actually happens. We discovered this the hard way.

We have the "Hopper" receiver in the house. We have a "Joey" box in other parts of the house. This part of the DISH service works fine.

We purchased the receiver for the RV. Our coach already had a Wingard satellite dish installed on the roof of the RV. There is a nominal monthly charge for the DISH service in the RV.

The DISH representative told us that when we travel that we would be able to access our "home channels" from wherever we were located. We liked this idea since this way, we could easily know what shows are on and the time we wanted to view them. This sounded like a great service!

The "reality" that we discovered is that when we are "outside" our immediate (home) service area, we need to contact DISH to request download of a "new signal" for the new location. This works OK for the RV coach but we discovered that the "signal change" also resets the "Hopper" server at home.

DISH not only disrupts the "Hopper" set up at home but it also changes the "account billing address" for our account.

We discovered an error in a monthly billing caused by the change to the "account billing address." When we called DISH about the billing error, they reluctantly adjusted the billing.

We programmed the "Hopper" receiver at home to record selected TV shows. We really like this feature. However, we discovered that when DISH downloads a "new signal" to the RV receiver, this change screws up the "Hopper" programming at home. It no longer downloads shows that we want to record. It also wipes out already recorded shows that we have not yet seen.

When calling DISH Tech Support to request a "new signal download," we have rarely talked with a tech person who knows what he(she) is doing. We've been told different stories about how accessing DISH when traveling is supposed to work.

At home, DISH service is great! When traveling in our coach, DISH service is NOT so great.

At this point, we "like/don't like" DISH. We're undecided about whether we will continue with DISH in the future.

Have any of you had an experience like this? If yes, how did you resolve it?

Have safe, joyous, holidays,

Rick in Palm Springs
ricklillie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 01:14 PM   #9
Left Coast
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 11,355
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Direct is the same
Bob/Linda, 99 Dodge 2500 Cummins,2010 8280 Rockwood Ultra-lite 5er, PullRite Superglide----- I'm retired......but work part time as a pain in the ass!........... USMC.
bob caldwell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 01:15 PM   #10
Senior Member
Boso's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,177
Never used locals channels while traveling we would had to change our entire account which would have changed tuning at home since we used our receiver from home just called and gave zip of where we at everything but our locals

i2015 sunseeker 3050s. 2007 saturn aura
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.