Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2015, 08:18 PM   #11
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackfacente View Post
You can not have a splitter in the cable between the receiver and dish multiswitch. The technology uses voltage to power and make selections in the lnb (dish head) unit..
Well sir I might not have a splitter, but it is a 4 way coax connector and it works just fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01737.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	146.1 KB
ID:	92761  
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2015, 10:33 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 31
Well sir what you have is a multiswitch. It is a dish product designed to work as your dish installer installed it. The rf off air splitters inside the rv operate up to the 900 mhz range. Dish Satellite feeds operate in the 2.7 gig range. They look like a big splitte and cone on 2, 4, and 8 way configurations. Call your Dish tech line, they will explain it to you easier than I can on this thread.
__________________

__________________
Jackfacente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 07:38 AM   #13
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackfacente View Post
Well sir what you have is a multiswitch. It is a dish product designed to work as your dish installer installed it. The rf off air splitters inside the rv operate up to the 900 mhz range. Dish Satellite feeds operate in the 2.7 gig range. They look like a big splitte and cone on 2, 4, and 8 way configurations. Call your Dish tech line, they will explain it to you easier than I can on this thread.
You are wrong sir, the Dish tech merely re-arranged the coax cables from the factory. He added nothing, I watched him the entire time. I had the standard box plugged in and the Dish antenna (which is permanently mounted on a concrete anchored pole installed in 2008 for our old 2008 Flagstaff which he also rewired)hooked to the trailer. Didn't even have a Tailgater at the time. I got the Tailgater late last year just exchanged the old box for the one that came with the Tailgater and I added the 4 coax connector and the coax cable to the rear and to the pinbox with the option of hooking a coax to the tripod if needed this spring.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 07:41 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 81
X2 some of the manufacturers wire the sat cable into the booster. The booster amp will not allow the signal tonpass through. I installed a separate connector to the same.plate the booster is on and screwed the sat cable straight into.the new connector. I have directv but same principal applies. I keep my sat connected at home all the time. the 5vr is my man cave a lot of Sunday afternoons.
__________________
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 07:54 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 171
My last two campers had a jumper coax. When I wanted to use the outside connection with cable or some other input I had to move the coax from one spot to another. Mine looked a little like the plate on the left.
__________________
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
TakeItEasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 08:58 AM   #16
Member
 
peterbilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: knoxville tn
Posts: 58
i had a piece of the out side wire wraped around the inside wire after i got that fixed it worked right
__________________
peterbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 09:39 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeItEasy View Post
My last two campers had a jumper coax. When I wanted to use the outside connection with cable or some other input I had to move the coax from one spot to another. Mine looked a little like the plate on the left.
I did something like this TIE, except I added the second coax connector on the same outlet. I removed the cable that comes in from the outside off of the booster and connected to the new connector on the plate that I had modified.

In the meantime I moved my receiver and need the kind of splitter OC has so I can fed either sat to the rcvr or catv to the booster outlet... without having to unscrew and screw coaxial cables each time.

I can't find my photo.
WW
__________________
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 09:59 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 31
I stand by my advice, call Dish Tech Support 1 800 454 0843 and explain your situation, thru will tell you what's going on and how to remedy it. Then share your solution. I think we are getting hung up on semantics of the splitter between the sat dish and the sat receiver box.
__________________
Jackfacente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 10:30 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 155
See the attached schematics of how to utilize the existing
outside cable connection to bring into the RV both
CATV and a Satellite signal. I provided two schematics
showing the connections.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Diplexer.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	92793  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Diplexer.pdf (138.7 KB, 24 views)
__________________
mbtelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 10:59 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 155
Just a quick note Winegard has diplexers check their site and if
you what a detail explanation of the diplexers see wikipedia.

Gary
__________________

__________________
mbtelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.