Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2011, 06:22 PM   #161
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
If I'm watching a DVD on the Genesis 3.0 I have to have the surround sound on to hear it. It doesn't produce sound out of the TV. I would like to be able to watch a DVD with only the sound coming from the TV. Can this be done? It currently will not.
__________________

__________________
mblanks2 is offline  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:25 PM   #162
Junior Member
 
walterw11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 13
I have the Genisis 2.0 and in my new 2012 2608ss and the DVD will load sometimes and play and other times it will not. I have tried different DVDs and they won't work at all. Any suggestion on what might be the problem.

Thanks Walter
__________________

__________________
walterw11 is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 10:35 AM   #163
Member
 
tmilicia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterw11 View Post
I have the Genisis 2.0 and in my new 2012 2608ss and the DVD will load sometimes and play and other times it will not. I have tried different DVDs and they won't work at all. Any suggestion on what might be the problem.

Thanks Walter
I think they have a bad batch of dvd drives in these new Genesis 2.0 units. I had the same issue with mine, it wouldn't play any disc I put in it. The screen would just say "load" and would lock up. I pulled it out and sent it back to the Forest River parts dept. for replacement.
__________________
tmilicia is offline  
Old 09-11-2011, 09:16 PM   #164
Member
 
althebuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 31
Just out on our first camping trip in our new to us unit. 2007 rockwood 8287SS fifth wheel We plugged in our camper to the CATV with coax cable and had a worse picture than I would have expected with rabbit ears in a concrete bunker. I have no idea what model it just says concertone amfmcddvcmp3 stereo or something like that.

It also makes a buzzing noise all the time.

Last night I went nuts and ripped the whole thing out of the cupboard, I was appalled at the wiring job done by the factory, and the holes they knocked into the wall panel behind the cupboard.

I basically took every wire apart, separated them, found the coax wire running beside romex AC line voltage wiring, wrapped it in aluminum foil as I figured it would be the cheap stuff with no shielding. Nothing has shielding, the speaker wires are getting noise from some of the electrics in the unit, every time I turn on a light fixture I get another set of buzzes, and there is a hum all the time in the camper that goes away every time the tv or radio is off.

My previous Jayco trailer, also had a "cheaper" AV unit, but it was simple and always worked great.

I have to say that the Concertone unit has to be one of the best concepts I've seen for an RV system as it covers the bases in terms of what you would want to plug in, came prewired for an XM with a mount in the wall. (not sure If I would subscribe again, just cancelled a couple of years back.) But nice they thought of it. It seems in reading through the comments that those with problems are upset and rightly so. Those without problems aren't upset, and If my unit worked flawlessly I would be very pleased, as the concept is excellent. You can hook up computers, AV equipment, video game consoles, the system runs on 12V power, handles, CD, DVD, television from air, sat and catv, radio from weather band, am and fm, apparently can play MP3's no idea how, but if it just had a mini RCA and or Ipod hook up it would be perfect.
That and a good installation, a manual for the unit itself.

So if anyone has solved the buzz please let me know. If bob is aware of the issue he can let me know. I really appreciate the fact that the manufacturer is here to discuss and help resolve issues. Interesting to hear that the forest river folks may switch suppliers. In my case though I'd say the bigger issue is the installation not the head unit itself. I am tempted to circumvent the whole thing and put in all my own stuff, I feel I may have enough older equipment in my house to do it, but the wiring is still pretty suspect.
__________________
Al, Travelling with wife, daughter 5, son 3, 3/4 tons of 2013 Ram CCLB, five tons of fifth wheel Rockwood 8287SS still showing my kids north america one campground and road trip at a time.
althebuilder is offline  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:09 PM   #165
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mblanks2 View Post
If I'm watching a DVD on the Genesis 3.0 I have to have the surround sound on to hear it. It doesn't produce sound out of the TV. I would like to be able to watch a DVD with only the sound coming from the TV. Can this be done? It currently will not.
What say ye?
__________________
mblanks2 is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 11:23 AM   #166
Member
 
tmilicia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by mblanks2 View Post
What say ye?
Yes, it can be done. You will need to run a set of RCA audio cables from the concertone output (rear of the unit) to the TV's audio input. Shouldn't take more the 15-20 minutes to run a cable. providing the TV is close to the Concertone unit.
__________________
tmilicia is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 01:26 PM   #167
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 178
Bob I finally got around to doing more test on my unit. I disconnected and reconnect all coax cables at the 4 way splitter I replaced and I now have video. still cannot play a dvd and the video is not the best. horizontal lines thru it. I found some speaker wires loose where I had pulled the unit so many times. I think I crossed a couple of speaker wires as they are not all working now. I will study the diagram and attempt to straighten it out. I don't know why I cannot play a dvd. The back of the tv has a video connection and also the rca plugs. are the rca plugs output or in?
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:20 AM   #168
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmilicia View Post
Yes, it can be done. You will need to run a set of RCA audio cables from the concertone output (rear of the unit) to the TV's audio input. Shouldn't take more the 15-20 minutes to run a cable. providing the TV is close to the Concertone unit.
Hey, good reply - I would have said no, but you are thinking outside the box and are right! Of course they will also need to shut off all speaker zones.

GREAT JOB!
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:21 AM   #169
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by bill and theresa View Post
Bob I finally got around to doing more test on my unit. I disconnected and reconnect all coax cables at the 4 way splitter I replaced and I now have video. still cannot play a dvd and the video is not the best. horizontal lines thru it. I found some speaker wires loose where I had pulled the unit so many times. I think I crossed a couple of speaker wires as they are not all working now. I will study the diagram and attempt to straighten it out. I don't know why I cannot play a dvd. The back of the tv has a video connection and also the rca plugs. are the rca plugs output or in?
Bill, take a picture and post...
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:25 AM   #170
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by althebuilder View Post
Just out on our first camping trip in our new to us unit. 2007 rockwood 8287SS fifth wheel We plugged in our camper to the CATV with coax cable and had a worse picture than I would have expected with rabbit ears in a concrete bunker. I have no idea what model it just says concertone amfmcddvcmp3 stereo or something like that......
Hi Al,

Knowing the model number is pretty important for giving you specific feedback. Please checkout Concertone® Product Gallery to see if you can identify.

In a 2007 RV you MAY have a ZX500. If so, that does NOT have a digital tuner and that may be why your having TV picture troubles to start, but we really need more information.

1. Model Concertone?
2. Model TV? Year?
3. Did it ever work that you know of?

Lets start there...
__________________

__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.