Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2010, 12:11 AM   #21
Site Team
 
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Fields View Post
Just an update to let you all know the 26" box truck with car hauler is leaving Massachusetts tomorrow heading for Elkhart, IN. It will be me and Lynda (the Mrs of almost 30 years) along with our 14 year old Jack Russell Terrier making the 900 mile journey.

Have a safe trip and speedy time unpacking. Moving can be stressful. Take care of yourself and your family - we'll be waiting for an update when you're set up and running.

__________________

__________________
Janet H is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 06:48 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhodes50 View Post
Bob,

Talking with my dealership's service manager the other day and told him about disconnecting the power for a few minutes so the unit can reset. He claims he hadn't heard of that before and wished that Concertone would send out memo's or something so they would know about these fixes.

Now that's what he told me. I don't know anything about the communication between dealers and Concertone, but that may be something to look into.

Oh yeah, this was the third unit in my tt. I had the same problem with the second unit as I did with my current unit. Maybe this fix would have worked on the second unit, but I didn't know about the fix then and apparently my dealer didn't either since they replaced the unit.

Hope your move is going OK.

I think that what you are talking about here is more of the problem than the Concertone itself. Reseting power is a basic troubleshooting step! A dealers service department would hopefully have at least one fairly qualified person. One of the things that makes a GOOD "troubleshooting technician" is the WHY! The good tech just doesn't get it working, but they dig in and look for why! In an ideal world, you shouldn't have to reset power, but we own campers and things change as we use them. Batteries run down, bumps loosen connections, and so on. Your dealer concerns me that the service department even needs to be told about reseting a piece of electronic equipment. Just my thoughts.
__________________

__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 04:32 PM   #23
MrT
Senior Member
 
MrT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Where We Hook Up
Posts: 221
Bob, thanks so much in advance for your generous participation in this community. Good luck with your move to RV land in Northern Indiana! My wife and I purchased our first TT this season, equipped with a Concertone ZX700 unit. So far so good, with flawless performance.

I'm sure I can come up with a few considerations for future designs, but I'll save those for a rainy day...
__________________

2017 Cedar Creek 38CK Hathaway Edition
2015 Ford F-350 6.7 CC 4x4
B&W RVK3300
Full-timing since 5/2/2016. Roam Sweet Home.
FROG Int'l Rallies: 2012-2017
MrT is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 12:50 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
great white's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 662
So, what would cause "static" in the speakers when playing a disc? It isn't obscenely loud, it is low enough to ignore if you want buit it's still there. It also disappears when you hit "pause". Does it on every factory DVD and CD we've tried.

zx700.

It's under warranty as the whole trailer is only about a week old.

Good luck on your move and new job!
__________________
great white is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:28 AM   #25
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbrown1075 View Post
I think that what you are talking about here is more of the problem than the Concertone itself. Reseting power is a basic troubleshooting step! A dealers service department would hopefully have at least one fairly qualified person. One of the things that makes a GOOD "troubleshooting technician" is the WHY! The good tech just doesn't get it working, but they dig in and look for why! In an ideal world, you shouldn't have to reset power, but we own campers and things change as we use them. Batteries run down, bumps loosen connections, and so on. Your dealer concerns me that the service department even needs to be told about reseting a piece of electronic equipment. Just my thoughts.
Kirk,

It would not be surprising that the typical service tech for an RV would not know the nuances of electronics troubleshooting and I certainly do not blame them. We all have our training and experiences for our given field and we (manufacturer suppliers) need to do a better job of helping our manufacturer partners all the way through the distribution channel.

As an STS1(SS) with advanced electronics training, I would take it for granted just as you do but for all that is not the case. This is why we must constantly "say the same thing" and work to get the word out there!

Thanks for understanding!
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:29 AM   #26
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrT View Post
Bob, thanks so much in advance for your generous participation in this community. Good luck with your move to RV land in Northern Indiana! My wife and I purchased our first TT this season, equipped with a Concertone ZX700 unit. So far so good, with flawless performance.

I'm sure I can come up with a few considerations for future designs, but I'll save those for a rainy day...
Thanks Mr T and feel free to drop me a line any time.
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:31 AM   #27
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by great white View Post
So, what would cause "static" in the speakers when playing a disc? It isn't obscenely loud, it is low enough to ignore if you want buit it's still there. It also disappears when you hit "pause". Does it on every factory DVD and CD we've tried.

zx700.

It's under warranty as the whole trailer is only about a week old.

Good luck on your move and new job!
I am sorry you are experiencing noise while playing a disc. There are a few factors that may cause this but if it has done it from the start and it is covered under warranty then you really need to get it back to the dealer for them to check it out.

If your RV is put away for the winter, I would highly recommend reporting it to the dealer now so it is documented asap.

Good luck!
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:34 AM   #28
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by grhodes50 View Post
Bob,

Talking with my dealership's service manager the other day and told him about disconnecting the power for a few minutes so the unit can reset. He claims he hadn't heard of that before and wished that Concertone would send out memo's or something so they would know about these fixes.

Now that's what he told me. I don't know anything about the communication between dealers and Concertone, but that may be something to look into...
You bring up a good point and one we will be addressing...(Communicating Tech Bulletins & such).
Thanks!
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:55 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 165
i contacted bob through an email about the trouble my concertone gave me when new. i tried i think 15 units. now with one season working"ok" the second season it has started to act up. he has offered on this forum to "help" people that are having trouble. so i contacted him and his response was that they are offering to sell me a new unit for 250 bucks. he said he was glad that i got "some quality time" with my concertone. only used the trailer 15 nights last year so he is glad it worked maybe 5 times. now he wants to help take another 250 bucks out of my wallet. by the posts in the concertone section the new units are no better. i think i will be looking for another place to spend my hard earned money. thanks for your time bob but it looks like you are just using this forum for free advertisement. i really hope the mods for this forum look into this.
__________________
skidoonut is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 06:38 PM   #30
Grape Escape
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 774
Buy any home theatre receiver (Samsung, Sony, LG) for less than the $250 quoted or the Jensen unit. At least they will outlast the RV
__________________

__________________
2008 Cardinal 30RKLE 5th wheel sold
2006 Rockwood 2607, 2001 Traillite
55 nights 2009, 53 for 2010
44 for 2011, 38 for 2012, 35 for 2013, 51 for 2014
dezolen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.