Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2018, 06:51 PM   #1

Dometic 3962 refrigerator

I’ve searched the forum looking for a similar situation and so far found nothing.

I have a new 2018 Rockwood Windjammer 3008W with a Dometic 3962 refrigerator, 120V / LP operation. I’m new to RV’ing so I don’t know if my issue is an issue or not.

We have noticed when traveling with the refrigerator on “gas” operation it cools very poorly. Starting the day with air temperatures 75/77 degF ambient finishing the day with 85/87 degF. The refrigerator (by the front panel gauge) starts the day 36/37 degF and finishes the 5 to 6 hour journey around 43/47 degF. Cooling setting is set at 4 (1 - 5 is the available temp setting range, 5 is the coolest). No error codes are shown and the fridge indicates gas operation when 120V shore power is disconnected.

The fridge works fine on 120V shore power. Moreover, it works fine on LP when stationary in the campground. I’ve run it on both for 24 hours and both have maintained temperatures in the 36/37 degF range, even when the door is being opened/closed while cooking.

All this indicates to me that the cooling unit and control circuitry are working properly. On the last couple of travel days I’ve listened at the exterior vent door and can hear the roar of the burner when stopped at rest stops. I’ve also disconnected all the fans that I wired to the 12V supply in case these were drawing down the 12V supply - this step did not result in any improvement. I have not removed all the tin heat shielding so I have not yet assessed the “quality” of the flame. I can see it is blue, but I can’t see anymore than that without some more dismantling.

So I’m at a loss. Is a temperature gain like this normal while traveling?
TJA1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:44 AM   #2