Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2013, 07:18 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Dometic AC compressor not starting

I have recently installed a new Dometic 15K Duo Therm AC unit. Normally the compressor starts within 10 seconds after the blower, but occasionally it will not start and the blower will turn off after a minute or so and then cycle again after a few minutes. The compressor may start on the second attempt or it may take 3 attempts. This is very intermittent and there may be a few days between occurrences. When I have checked the voltages it is been between 118 and 120. Should I add a starting capacitor? Are there any other suggestions?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
jfschmitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:23 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,168
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfschmitter View Post
I have recently installed a new Dometic 15K Duo Therm AC unit. Normally the compressor starts within 10 seconds after the blower, but occasionally it will not start and the blower will turn off after a minute or so and then cycle again after a few minutes. The compressor may start on the second attempt or it may take 3 attempts. This is very intermittent and there may be a few days between occurrences. When I have checked the voltages it is been between 118 and 120. Should I add a starting capacitor? Are there any other suggestions?

Thanks
If new I would call Dometic. It should be under warranty.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:11 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,616
It sounds more like a stat problem, even if the compressor did not start and was out on internal overload, your blower would still stay on. Because your blower is shutting down it could also be the circuit board inside the unit, but I think more then likely it's the stat. Is your breaker tripping? If no then it's not an overload or equalization problem. It's a stat or board problem in the unit.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:33 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
No the breaker is not tripping. The stat and control unit are also new. This is under warranty, but I want to be sure that it will be covered prior to calling a mobile service tech to diagnose the problem.
__________________
jfschmitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,616
I would think that it would be under Warranty, in fact I think they are under warranty for 2 years, the problem will be for him to try and make it happen when he is there. Also some stats are bad right out of the box. If you put the stat on that would not be under warranty but your A/C would be.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 07:53 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
I have replaced the thermostat and control kit and still have the same issue. The other problem is that this occurs only at night when the outside air temp drops. I am in florida, so it is not that cool at night. Any other suggestions?
__________________
jfschmitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,528
Were are you running it????? At home with a long extension cord??? Or with at least a 30A cord & 30A Breaker
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2013 Puma Unleashed 356 QLB
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Sadie & Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxers
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:31 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
I have a 30 amp service at the campground. I have checked the night time voltages for any drop, but it stays steady at 119 to 121.
__________________
jfschmitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:49 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post

If new I would call Dometic. It should be under warranty.
2 year warranty for dometic a/c
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 09:44 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
I have called Dometic and they gave me the number for a mobile AC tech. I will post the information when I get an answer.
__________________

__________________
jfschmitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.