Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2016, 01:09 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
lgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
15k btu a/c takes closer to 2500 watts to start and about 1800 to run.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
Not according to this:

https://www.steadypower.com/pages.php?pageid=133
__________________

__________________
lgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:16 PM   #22
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,298
Dometic AC on Generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by lgray View Post


According to my meter I draw 18-19 amps at start up and 15-16 running which is no where near 3500 watts.
Out of 4 dometic a/c units I've never had one draw over 20 amps.

I do see however dometic has recently changed the specs for a 15k to 3500k it used to be 2500k

Possibly because of the brisk air II


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:22 PM   #23
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,298
My 13.5k runs almost exactly 1 amp less on start up and running then my 15k


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:23 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
lgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 760
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgray View Post
A 15,000 btu, AC takes between 3300-3500 at start and 1300-1800W to run.
Jaqspe,

Regardless of the EXACT start wattage, the AC is likely putting a higher load on your generator than your microwave.
__________________
lgray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 04:36 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Thank you for all your help. I have more information now. I put some cleaner in the gas tank that was recommended by Onan with no help. I tried to run the AC again, and this time I noticed a clicking noise coming from behind the fuse panel. It sounds like a turning signal. What can that be? Can that be the issue that I am having?
__________________
Jagspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 04:41 PM   #26
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,298
Transfer switch?


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 04:56 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Does the clicking mean something is wrong with it?
__________________
Jagspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 04:59 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 123
Please post the make, model, and serial number of the generator.
If the transfer switch is clicking, then the delay switch on the control board of the transfer switch has been disabled.
__________________
BBQGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 05:04 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 362
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagspe View Post
Thank you for all your help. I have more information now. I put some cleaner in the gas tank that was recommended by Onan with no help. I tried to run the AC again, and this time I noticed a clicking noise coming from behind the fuse panel. It sounds like a turning signal. What can that be? Can that be the issue that I am having?
I wonder if your fuel pump isn't going out like I believe mine is (also have an Onan 4kw). I'm taking mine in tomorrow to get it checked out. It behaved similar to yours, at high altitude and hot. I used to hear a ticking sound during priming, but from what I understand, it should be more of a thud sound. Mine will run fine right now and run the AC, but I'm guessing it'll shut down again if I start driving and its 100F out. I also have to prime it 3 times or so before it'll start. Hence I'm leaning towards a bad fuel pump. We'll find out tomorrow and I'll keep you posted.
__________________
KansasFR3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 05:08 PM   #30
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQGUY View Post
Please post the make, model, and serial number of the generator.
If the transfer switch is clicking, then the delay switch on the control board of the transfer switch has been disabled.
It is a Onan RV RV QG 4000.

Model Number: 4KYFA26100L
Serial Number: E120336370
__________________

__________________
Jagspe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.