Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2016, 11:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
jbhodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 104
Dometic Gas/Electric fridge ?

My Dometic has 2 switches, on off and auto/gas button. When hooked to shore power and on auto and gas turned off you can hear it trying to light the heater and then check light comes on. Turn on propane and purge, the turn off and back on the fridge lights burner although it's set to auto which I thought would not use any propane to run. Is this normal for the burner to light when running on electric? It will run with propane switch selected just fine with gas in but won't run in auto with gas off




Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
jbhodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:09 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,298
Dometic Gas/Electric fridge ?

Pull outside cover and make sure fridge is plugged in.
If it is plugged in check the circuit breaker in your distribution panel.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:14 PM   #3
Canadian Member
 
itat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Eastern GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,102
I agree with TURBS. It doesn't seem to be getting 120 VAC power. Although, I'd check them in the opposite order just because its easier to check the breaker.
__________________
2011 Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8293SS, 12K Equal-i-zer
2016 Ford F-250 XLT SuperCrew, 6.2L, 4x4, 6'9" bed, 3.73
Fondly remembered:
2010 Rockwood Roo 23SS (2012 - 2014)
2009 Ford F-150 XLT SuperCrew, 5.4L, 4x4, 5'6" bed (2012 - 2016)

itat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 01:22 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by itat View Post
I agree with TURBS. It doesn't seem to be getting 120 VAC power. Although, I'd check them in the opposite order just because its easier to check the breaker.


I'd agree


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "14"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 03:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Cajun Style's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 174
Check your GFI in the bathroom it might be tripped!


Harry-O
__________________
Cajun Style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 10:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jbhodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 104
Power and GFI checked as well as breaker box. Checked power at plug and good there so may have panel issue I'm guessing or something else


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
jbhodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:03 PM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,398
There have been a couple of reports of the button (Eyebrow) board not making contact when the buttons are pressed, and the units staying on gas when Auto was selected.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:15 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 3,617
Check with the auto/gas button in other position.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 65W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 01:50 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jbhodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybob View Post
Check with the auto/gas button in other position.

Tried that and when propane is selected it runs on propane


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
jbhodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 01:51 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
jbhodj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
There have been a couple of reports of the button (Eyebrow) board not making contact when the buttons are pressed, and the units staying on gas when Auto was selected.

When you say eyebrow what are you referring to?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
jbhodj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, electric, fridge, gas, select

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.