Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2018, 04:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Posts: 49
Dometic model RM2354 refrigerator not cooling while on propane

We have a 2017 Palomino RL182 trailer with a slide out kitchen. We been checking out the systems for a trip from Virginia to Alaska and the refrigerator has stopped working on the propane side (itís AC, DC, Gas).
Running it on AC cools it down nicely and maintains fine. Once cool, running on DC is ok but it draws enough current that on an 8 hr driving day itís hard pressed to keep up w/o draining my batteries lower than Iíd like considering I use a CPAP. I donít think I could Boondock for days using DC to power the refrigerator.
No to the problem. Once the refrigerator is chilled using AC power and weíve switched to gas (propane) it doesnít cool at all. Troubleshooting this I will note that the propane tanks are full, the gas is turn on the bottles, the flame is blue and steady. Looks like it should work but it doesnít. Note that this refrigerator is not vented through the roof but into the cabinet/slide out box and there is a vent panel in the exterior wall.
Local dealer says I should inspect the flue tube and baffle for mud wasp nests. Any other suggestions?Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2003.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	121.7 KB
ID:	178495Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1530913166.603167.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	320.5 KB
ID:	178496Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1530913182.746034.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	262.4 KB
ID:	178497Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1530913202.449236.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	241.8 KB
ID:	178498
__________________

kwf1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 05:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 9,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwf1958 View Post
We have a 2017 Palomino RL182 trailer with a slide out kitchen. We been checking out the systems for a trip from Virginia to Alaska and the refrigerator has stopped working on the propane side (itís AC, DC, Gas).
Running it on AC cools it down nicely and maintains fine. Once cool, running on DC is ok but it draws enough current that on an 8 hr driving day itís hard pressed to keep up w/o draining my batteries lower than Iíd like considering I use a CPAP. I donít think I could Boondock for days using DC to power the refrigerator.
No to the problem. Once the refrigerator is chilled using AC power and weíve switched to gas (propane) it doesnít cool at all. Troubleshooting this I will note that the propane tanks are full, the gas is turn on the bottles, the flame is blue and steady. Looks like it should work but it doesnít. Note that this refrigerator is not vented through the roof but into the cabinet/slide out box and there is a vent panel in the exterior wall.
Local dealer says I should inspect the flue tube and baffle for mud wasp nests. Any other suggestions?Attachment 178495Attachment 178496Attachment 178497Attachment 178498
Could be a couple of things, 1st Check the reset in the flue, 2 red wires going to it, second could be your board, do you here it light off, or does it lock out, that's the board then. Try it when your at a spot to see if it lights. Stop at a dealer if all else fails and have them look at it. It will drain your battery on dc.
__________________

__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 05:18 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Posts: 49
Thanks for the input. You got a good repair manual or exploded view of this frig?
kwf1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 05:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 9,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwf1958 View Post
Thanks for the input. You got a good repair manual or exploded view of this frig?
Sorry no, but that flue reset is just above the first picture. Also if your at a CG, leave that top vent off and if it running on propane see how it does, had one in a slide, they need a 12volt fan wired in below the coil in the top, it would help greatly. But check to make sure it will work off propane first. Them circuit boards are pure garbage and they go out all the time, you can get them on eBay, your refer will work on a.c. and dc but not on propane if it go's out. There is no way to boondock and run a cpac on dc only using your refer, it would drain your battery daily. But reset that limit in the flue first, there's a little button in the middle, the whole reset is no bigger then a dime.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 10:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witch Doctor View Post
Sorry no, but that flue reset is just above the first picture. Also if your at a CG, leave that top vent off and if it running on propane see how it does, had one in a slide, they need a 12volt fan wired in below the coil in the top, it would help greatly. But check to make sure it will work off propane first. Them circuit boards are pure garbage and they go out all the time, you can get them on eBay, your refer will work on a.c. and dc but not on propane if it go's out. There is no way to boondock and run a cpac on dc only using your refer, it would drain your battery daily. But reset that limit in the flue first, there's a little button in the middle, the whole reset is no bigger then a dime.


Not at a campground but am parked in driveway with 30amp connection. I looked for but didnít see a reset button with two red wires. If I get another board how will I discover what my part number is? Kind of hitting a wall here.
kwf1958 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 01:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 9,171
There has to be a reset in the flue. I also think you have one in the condenser coil on top, you can order the board from your model number, there pretty much the same board in all the units. That reset is like big as a dime only, look about 2' up on the flue and also on the coil on top, located in the upper door area.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:17 AM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 5,426
Looking at the Service Manual, the thermofuse is wired in series with the power to the igniter so you wouldn't get a flame at all if it were tripped.

Take a look at the service manual I linked above and see if that helps you any.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 06:57 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 9,171
OP, look at what was just posted, find page 17 and read gas, it will tell you how to determine if your board is bad, also check the fuse on the back side of the board there 3, very good fine Bama.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:15 PM   #9
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 2,073
"the flame is blue and steady"

If the flame is blue and steady, and it it works on AC and D.C. then your fridge is haunted and some demon is sucking the flame away.

No way for that to happen, except for a clogged flue maybe and that should affect the AC somewhat also. Something weird is happening.
__________________
2017 Fuse 23T
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 02:29 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Henderson, KY
Posts: 104
Based on my own experience, I suggest you check the gas pressure at the frig.
Or have it checked. My frig is only AC or gas but was doing the same thing.
Right down to the flame looking ok.
I had done just about everything mentioned and was ready to order a new board when a friend recommended I check gas pressure first. It was at 6 inches water column. Should be 11.

Proceeded to check the output side of the regulator and got the same reading.
Replaced the regulator and that fixed it. Works great on gas now.
You mention your frig is in a slideout, I would look for a kinked line to the frig first.
__________________

__________________
2014 Coachman Clipper 17FQ
2011 Ford Ranger 4X4
Kenrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cooling, propane, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.