Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2015, 11:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 138
I see it's a 2015 so I would assume that the battery is good but it may be worth checking. The battery also needs to be fully charged ---- the ignition is 12V.
__________________

__________________
bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 10:24 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Thanks everyone for the suggestions and help. Husband used a compressor to blow everything clean but it still does not ignite. Battery is fully charged. The books reads that it will try to ignite for 45 seconds but we only hear one click (not several like our boiler in our house) and then silence, then another click about two minutes later. This cycles three times and then the check light goes on. We tried turing it off and then on as suggested but no luck. Guess it is time to see the professionals. Thanks again everyone for your help. Will let you know what we find out.
__________________

__________________
dbutusov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:01 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
D_B Travelers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Watauga, Texas
Posts: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybob View Post
If you have not run the fridge for a while, you may need to turn it on and off several times. The fridge uses a very low flow of propane, so it there is any air in the line it will take several tries to light. Be sure to turn it off then on again to reset. On some, you may need to pull the fridge fuse to accomplish the reset.
X2 on Flybob's comment
It does have a very small gas supply line from the RV's main gas line and will take a while for the propane to reach the pilot light in a strength to stay lit. If you haven't used it in a while it has to push out the atmospheric air first and then get the gas to to pilot. Also the thermocouple must be directly above the pilot flame when it does light or it will let it go out again and again. Resetting several times will help pull the propane, but I usually go inside and lite the stove burners first to get propane up closer in the main lines. Then my refrigerator seems to light quickly.
Also, make sure the propane is turned ON and the bottle is not empty...just say'n...it has happened to someone before.
__________________
D_B Travelers - 8 nights in 2017, 35 nights in 2016. [U]1st love: 2014 TT WJ3001w, now 2016 FW SOB, 2015 GMC 3500HD CC DRW Duramax, TST 507rv TPMS.
"Happiness? A good meal, a good cigar and a good woman - or a bad woman; it depends on how much happiness you can handle."
George Burns (1896 Ė 1996)
D_B Travelers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:05 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 33
Does the propane light everything else (stove, hot water)? If not you may have to purge the gas lines. Just light your stove top burner for a few min. Also, i had a similar problem once and i switched from auto to gas then back to auto a few times and it lit. Not sure if that helps but good luck.
__________________
vanreever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:12 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_B Travelers View Post
X2 on Flybob's comment
It does have a very small gas supply line from the RV's main gas line and will take a while for the propane to reach the pilot light in a strength to stay lit. If you haven't used it in a while it has to push out the atmospheric air first and then get the gas to to pilot. Also the thermocouple must be directly above the pilot flame when it does light or it will let it go out again and again. Resetting several times will help pull the propane, but I usually go inside and lite the stove burners first to get propane up closer in the main lines. Then my refrigerator seems to light quickly.
Also, make sure the propane is turned ON and the bottle is not empty...just say'n...it has happened to someone before.
^This is what I have to do everytime I try to run on propane... Stove is at the end of the line, so if it lights and stays burning, everything else in front of it will have the supply of propane to run.

J.
__________________
jcrayford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:16 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 209
If you are setting it to gas while the refrigerator is still cold from electric use it will not light. it wont light until the refrigerator says it is warming up and needs to be cooled down. the flame does not stay lit all the time. If the check light does not come on it is all well. The new electronic ignition refers do not burn all the time just when needed to cool down the unit.
If you are lighting the refrig. when it is warm and it comes on and immediately goes out or to check , cycle it several times to be sure LP is getting to the burner.


The refrig, will not work at all without 12volts to the refrigerator control board.
__________________
hillsdaletc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:17 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Thanks for the assistance. The refrigerator has been working great since April of 2015 on auto (switching between propane, generator and plugged in while at home). The refrigerator now works fine on generator and plugged in at home only. The problem when using the propane started this past weekend. Everything else that uses propane (water heater, furnace, stove, oven) work just fine. Thinking it may be a faulty ignitor (not sure that is what you call it). It tries three times to light and then the "check" light comes on. We never get a flame. Fuses (good), battery (fully charged), propane (nearly full), blew out any dust or debris.
__________________
dbutusov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:20 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 209
There are no pilot lights on the new models. except a few lower priced models with pilot Water heaters. Ignighters light the lp when called for.
__________________
hillsdaletc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:29 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Thanks for the info hillsdaletc. Cannot figure out why everytime we try to use "gas only" option the refrigerator will not work. Sounds like it is trying to start up three times (only one click each time) and then the check light comes on. We have tried resetting it several times (turning on and off) but get the same results. (Just fine when plugged in at home and while using the generator.) We will try turning the refrigerator off, let it warm up and then try starting it up on "gas only".
__________________
dbutusov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 02:58 PM   #20
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Try resetting the stack temperature hi limit.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Refrigerator Overheat sensor.JPG
Views:	120
Size:	190.4 KB
ID:	83464  
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, propane, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.