Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 09:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 43
dometic refrigerator question

We have a new 2013 vibe 6504.we are going on our second camping trip this weekend.I have the trailer plugged to a 30 amp circuit in my backyard.I turned the refrigerator on auto in order to precool but do not have the gas on.the check light came on after a few minutes.does the gas have to be turned on in order for it to work?

Geo m
2005 colorado
6504 vibe
__________________

__________________
geo m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:52 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
No the gas does not have to be on to work.
Is the auto switch in the on position ?


Turbs
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by geo m View Post
We have a new 2013 vibe 6504.we are going on our second camping trip this weekend.I have the trailer plugged to a 30 amp circuit in my backyard.I turned the refrigerator on auto in order to precool but do not have the gas on.the check light came on after a few minutes.does the gas have to be turned on in order for it to work?

Geo m
2005 colorado
6504 vibe
Why would you not turn the gas on? It uses very little gas and cools much faster. But, if it is on Auto, it should switch to electric if gas is not available it should go to electric.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:31 AM   #4
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,715
IF the check light came on it sounds like maybe the fridge is not
getting 120v AC so it's trying to switch to gas mode.
Since your LP is off it's showing the check lite.

Only a guess. Check your circuit breaker box and make sure the circuit
breaker marked refrigerator is on.
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:33 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by geo m
We have a new 2013 vibe 6504.we are going on our second camping trip this weekend.I have the trailer plugged to a 30 amp circuit in my backyard.I turned the refrigerator on auto in order to precool but do not have the gas on.the check light came on after a few minutes.does the gas have to be turned on in order for it to work?

Geo m
2005 colorado
6504 vibe
30 amp 110 or 220 volt ?
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:40 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
30 amp 110 or 220 volt ?
OMG, I hope its not another one!
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:45 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769

OMG, I hope its not another one!
Well after I thought about it he said 30 amp plug at his home it has to make you wonder now that he's having issues with the fridge that just worked on previous trip.
I wonder if anything else is working right.


I hope not another one to.


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:03 AM   #8
Member
 
oldprof1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sebright Ontario, Canada
Posts: 84
fridge power

Sounds like another to me. However if it is wired correctly the check light comes on in my unit periodically. The remedy is to turn the fridge switch off, which resets the fridge and then back on. The unit will go through it's start-up check and come on (usually). Hope this helps
__________________

__________________
oldprof1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.