Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2013, 03:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,986
Dual Thermostat Question

We were discussing why some units come with both a analog and a digital thermostat on another thread (no good answers but lots of guesses )

(FYI, in our unit the analog thermostat controls the Living room A/C and the Digital thermostat the Bedroom A/C and ther propane furnace)

I agree with others and want to replace the analog one with a digital (and suspect it is just going to be a bolt-on replacement) but this lead me to wonder...

Why in te HECK do we have 2 thermostats in the first place?

(this is our first 50AMP Rig with 2 A/C, so I am theorizing it is in case we hook up 30AMP and can only run 1 A/C (the living room I assume?)

Still, this is 2013 for gosh sakes, seems to me we could have one integrated controller (to rule them all ) instead of this analog-digital kludge.

Anyone care to educate me (and, if you have a solution for a integrated controller or digital replacement for the analog thermostat, please share!)
__________________

__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 • 2014 - 42 • 2015 - 56 • Jul 2016 - Fulltime •
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 05:23 PM   #2
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,711
Could it be an optional second A/C vs. it being standard? (Wild guess, of course.)

In my case, both of my A/Cs are on digital thermostats.
__________________

__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
Could it be an optional second A/C vs. it being standard? (Wild guess, of course.) In my case, both of my A/Cs are on digital thermostats.
Well DOH! Of course it's the optional A/C :-) The second air-conditioner and 50 amp circuitry comes in the diamond package. Even so it doesn't explain when I don't have two digital thermostats. Do any of the Forest River team Monitor these boards? Be good hearing from the horses mouth :-)

So now I guess the question reverts to how can I replace this analog thermostat with the digital thermostat?

(Offhand comment department: I still don't understand why they couldn't put it into an integrated digital thermostat that would control both air-conditioners you could even have a switch where you could set AC one and a AC two, and if you only had a 30 amp unit with no second AC, the second switch would do nothing. Being a lean six Sigma guy, it just seems like this would be less touch, more uniformity of installation and wiring and less parts stockage than maintaining separate inventories for analog and digital thermostats)
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 • 2014 - 42 • 2015 - 56 • Jul 2016 - Fulltime •
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 467
so why does the Aviator that I own have 2 digital thermostats but only the 1 in the livingroom works the heat? And Why if you leave the fan in the auto position does the heat and A/C come on together and no this is not a defect, they planed it this way.
__________________
bob34787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 07:49 PM   #5
Moderators' Assistant
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 13,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSVBamaBob View Post
Do any of the Forest River team Monitor these boards? Be good hearing from the horses mouth :-)
not for the Rockwood/Flagstaff Division.

remember Forest River is made up of a lot of different divisions, each with their own autonomy, especially the recent acquisitions divisions(Palomino, Dynamax, Coachmen, etc.).

only only a few factory reps are members here and they represent only a few divisions. they are here only on their own personal desire to be able to interact with owners.
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 11:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
not for the Rockwood/Flagstaff Division. remember Forest River is made up of a lot of different divisions, each with their own autonomy, especially the recent acquisitions divisions(Palomino, Dynamax, Coachmen, etc.). only only a few factory reps are members here and they represent only a few divisions. they are here only on their own personal desire to be able to interact with owners.
Looks like a Goshen topic to me then
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 • 2014 - 42 • 2015 - 56 • Jul 2016 - Fulltime •
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 09:20 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
My Cardinal has two thermostats near the stairway, as well. The digital one controls the furnace and A/C in the front half and the regular analog thermostat controls the fantastic fan. That one tells it when to turn on and open up or shut down if it is getting too cold. I also have a digital thermostat in the bedroom to control the second A/C unit and the heat in the bedroom area. I'm just guessing yours may be set up the same…………….
__________________

__________________
Mtsiview is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.