Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2015, 11:41 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 68
Electrical Outlet for Microwave/Convection Oven

The electrical outlet where the microwave convection oven plugs in is dead. This morning when I got up the clock on the microwave was not working. I discovered that the microwave was not working at all. I checked the breakers and found that the breaker for the microwave was not tripped but the breaker for the converter was tripped. I reset the breaker. I checked the electrical outlet and discovered there was no power to the microwave. All other outlets appear to be working just fine. Is there anything else I can check or do? Please help.
__________________

__________________
Bbbarker194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:51 AM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbbarker194 View Post
The electrical outlet where the microwave convection oven plugs in is dead. This morning when I got up the clock on the microwave was not working. I discovered that the microwave was not working at all. I checked the breakers and found that the breaker for the microwave was not tripped but the breaker for the converter was tripped. I reset the breaker. I checked the electrical outlet and discovered there was no power to the microwave. All other outlets appear to be working just fine. Is there anything else I can check or do? Please help.
Check and reset all your GFI outlets.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 68
GFI outlets tested and reset - no problem there. My RV is a 2014 Cedar Creek 32RL if that matters.
__________________
Bbbarker194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:08 PM   #4
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Breakers all reset? If you don't have an inverter(youroo) unplug from shore power and start pulling outlets and remove the push in connections and use the screw connections only.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:11 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 68
Old Coot - breakers all reset. I don't know if I have an inverter or not - does the 2014 Cedar Creek come with an inverter? I have not added one. I am not sure what you are telling me to do with the outlets and screw connections.
__________________
Bbbarker194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,036
Lots of (Big Units) now have (Residential Refers) these have (Inverters),some Dealers/Salespeople don't even know this!? Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:19 PM   #7
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbbarker194 View Post
Old Coot - breakers all reset. I don't know if I have an inverter or not - does the 2014 Cedar Creek come with an inverter? I have not added one. I am not sure what you are telling me to do with the outlets and screw connections.
FR uses push in connections on the outlets where the wires are stripped and just pushed into the outlet. There are screw connections where you wrap the stripped end around the screw and tightened. IF you are not comfortable or knowledgeable with them, call a friend that is.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 68
I do not have a residential refrigerator. Are you telling me there is nothing else I can check or do to fix the problem? Do I need to get an electrician?
__________________
Bbbarker194 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:21 PM   #9
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by youroo View Post
Lots of (Big Units) now have (Residential Refers) these have (Inverters),some Dealers/Salespeople don't even know this!? Youroo!!
So the safe way is to unplug the shore power AND disconnect the battery(ies) completely.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 12:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,036
The O/P now says that they don't have a Res.Refer. but LOTs of these Big Units Do.I will start another Post for Info! Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.