Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2015, 12:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 106
First time with satellite tv

So I switched over to Dish at home and bought the antenna and receiver for the rv so I could enjoy all the programs without worrying about the over the air antenna picking up or how much the cg subscribes to for their cable.
So, theoretically I take the coax from the Dish Tailgater and hook it into the satellite input outside the 5er. Then attach coax to one of the outputs behind the tv to the receiver and finally the hdmi cable from the receiver to the tv. Sounds good, only one problem...it didn't work. After talking with Dish customer service and still no reception we finally decided to put the coax cable from the Tailgater antenna through a window and direct to the receiver then hdmi to the tv. Bottom line that worked like a charm. Yes, I made sure the little button on the output behind the tv was not pushed in and I did try all the outputs with no luck. So any other satellite users have this problem? What was the solution? I guess I can do it this way but it's a much neater set up doing it the "right way" (sigh).
__________________

__________________
2017 Grand Design Reflection 367BHS 5th wheel.
2017 F350 crew cab 6.7 4X4 srw.
clicker1944 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 12:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 85
Had the same issue on my TT. Service checked all the sat connections within the line from the sat hookup on the outside to the hookup inside the at the cable box and found connections were not crimped properly, go figure. they re-crimped all connection points and now it works great. No more running the cable through the window.
__________________

__________________
2002 GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax

2008 Rockwood Sig Ultra Lite 8315SS
Livin the Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Connect the tailgater to the park cable input port and try again (connect the tv end of the coax to the receiver). Chances are the sat tv input end of the coax is not connected to anything and just stowed somewhere. Just a shot.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BooBoo23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: West Atlanta Metro
Posts: 1,109
You may have to remove the wall outlet and check to see if the coax for satellite is actually screwed onto it. I will assume you have 2 coax outlets in the wall. One for OTA/Cable and another for satellite. If you have only one connector on the outside you will not get satellite to work. There has to be a separate connector of satellite. You say you hooked to the outside satellite connector so that suggestion is moot.
You can also purchase a "flat" coax jumper that is about 12" long and will allow you to close a door or window on it. They are available from Walmart, Amazon, Home Depot and other big box stores for less than $5.
__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS
2011 F-150 Super Crew XLT
Days camped in 2014 - 23 Camped 2015-47
Camped 2016-71, 2017-33, 2018-29 booked
BooBoo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 03:29 PM   #5
Member
 
Christian_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by clicker1944 View Post
So any other satellite users have this problem? What was the solution? I guess I can do it this way but it's a much neater set up doing it the "right way" (sigh).
Yes, I had the same problem. (I have a thread on here somewhere about it.)

After trying everything I could think of....and not ever being able to get the rooftop satellite coax to help me out.....I finally ran my own coax. It starts as a wall plate connection inside a storage compartment, runs under the coach (about 5 feet), enters the coach through a hole in the floor, runs through the passenger side pillar and behind the overhead cabinets where my receiver is.

When at the campground, I set up my antenna and run the coax from that to the wall plate connection. ...straight shot to the receiver, everything works, and everything is hidden.

I got pretty frustrated with the whole ordeal and decided to just run my own straight to the receiver.

Good luck with it.
__________________
Christian
Reno, NV
2015 Georgetown 270
Days Camped 2015: 40
Days Camped 2016: 03
Christian_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 04:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BooBoo23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: West Atlanta Metro
Posts: 1,109
If you are using the coax outlet for the OTA/Cable there is one other thing you might try. First of all, the splitter most commonly use for OTA/Cable will not pass the voltage necessary to power the antenna, thus you need to either have a separate coax outlet for satellite or you can pull the outlet loose from the wall and see if you can find the splitter and replace it with this one. You can find them at Home Depot for less than $5. My TT has separate ports on the outside so I didn't need to do this, but people that had only a cable port changed the splitter and said it worked fine.
cable splitter to use with satellite antenna - 5mhz-2.3ghz - Ideal band model #85-333
__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS
2011 F-150 Super Crew XLT
Days camped in 2014 - 23 Camped 2015-47
Camped 2016-71, 2017-33, 2018-29 booked
BooBoo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 03:37 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Brooksville,Fl
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to carluv
Had the same problem, satellite cable didn't go anywhere. Once I found it and put a connector on it, it works great.
__________________
carluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 05:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 505
Need a dedicated coax for the satellite most trailers have this separate from the CATV connection
__________________
Harkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 05:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 125
I have two ports on the outside of my TT. The one on the right works for Satellite input to the Top Port on the inside panel next to the TV. You can purchase a coax shorting connector from Radio Shack and use this to verify continunity of your coax runs within your rig.
__________________
saltyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
My new trailer was supposed to be satellite prepped. Well it wasn't so a little rewiring and changing wall outlets and now it is. If you try to go through the amplifier on or off it won't work. Cable will but not satellite. There can be nothing between the antenna and the receiver. Splitters are Ok but nothing electronic. I just had to bypass the amp with a splitter and create a second straight through connection. Works great now.
__________________

__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
first time, satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.