Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2018, 09:41 AM   #1

Fridge Issues (Dometic RM2351). Levelness?

Hi,

Newbie here with a new Wildwood FSX with Dometic RM2351 fridge.

I'm having problems getting it to consistently work properly.
A few times it has cooled down nicely (freezer very cold) then
warmed up to ambient, with nothing that I have done (I think).
All while on AC power (with gas on, as well).

Even while warming up, there is a bit of heat coming from the
exterior vent, so something is working.

I'm grasping at straws now, as I try to get ready for a long
trip starting tomorrow.

The last thing I tried last night was to lower the hitch to the
minimum in an attempt to get it a bit more level (fore-aft). The
hitch is still probably 6" to 1 foot higher than it should be for
dead level.

The fridge seems to be working since then (but its fooled me before).

Are these things really that sensitive to "levelness"? Is there a
tolerance (fore-aft). Its likely impossible, or at least, very
inconvient, to maintain levelness.
nholtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 10:14 AM   #2

A foot too high in the front is quite a bit. RV refrigerators rely on gravity and evaporation and have many little tubes that are CLOSE to being horizontal, but have a slight incline/decline.

If you're not level enough, those nearly horizontal tubes will fill with the liquid on one side and prevent the gravity/evaporative process.

So to answer your question, they have to be pretty level.

Here's a picture:
kfergiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 10:24 AM   #3
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Many R/V refrigerators are absorption type refrigerators and do not cool like residential refers in your house. (although some R/Vs have residential type)

Absorption refrigerators need to be somewhat level but not perfectly level.