Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2014, 05:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 23
fridge not working on gas

on shorepower, my dometic runs 36-40, on gas, right now it's 57. I purged the gas lines, the check light doesn't come on, and the clicking ligher stops after a few secs. (I have a remote therm. so I don't have to open the door to get temp). any ideas ? 2011 crossroads.... on my 2nd dometic a/c and 2nd fridge.... thanks to my wife for insisting on extended warranty
__________________

__________________
gregtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 05:29 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Are you sure the burner is lighting? Do you have internal and external fans?
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 05:54 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 23
clicking stops very quick, but have not "looked" yet at the flame. has been on gas for about 3 hrs, freezer is 8 and fridge is 58.... it's 95 outside, so would guess it's doin something, but not enough. i'll check the flame at dusk, when I can see it, sun is to bright right now....... gonna do a little dry camping at lake powell, hate to spend $5/on ice...... this is my second dometic fridge in 3 yrs and on my 2 dometic a/c. not real happy with the quality, but I do have to admit, the new brisk 2 works tons better than the old a/c
__________________
gregtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:29 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 23
checked, i'm getting a flame when turned on in gas mode, doesn't cool........ had this one put in last summer....... leaving for pagosa springs july 5...... guess i'll see if I can get someone to come out and work on it there
__________________
gregtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 01:41 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 54
2015 sandpiper 360 PDEK . When I switched from 110 to gas and vis versa had a lag time. I figured it was just going through its cycle.
__________________
palominoryda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:16 AM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
So it does cool on AC; but not on gas (yet the flame does light and stay on).

Does the flame stay on constantly trying to cool or does it go out almost right away? Does the check light come on and stay on after 3 times?

Perhaps the flame sensor is not reliably detecting the flame and shuts the gas off.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 08:32 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 23
let fridge run overnite on gas, freezer is -4, fridge is 46, so it's working, just not cold enough..... guessing it needs a minor tweak somewhere .......... on shorepower, fridge would range 36-40....... still under warranty, will see if I can get a mobile repairman in pagosa springs.
__________________
gregtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 12:03 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregtx View Post
let fridge run overnite on gas, freezer is -4, fridge is 46, so it's working, just not cold enough..... guessing it needs a minor tweak somewhere .......... on shorepower, fridge would range 36-40....... still under warranty, will see if I can get a mobile repairman in pagosa springs.
The flue may have a bug nest in it. (Does not affect the AC heater).

Try blowing it out with a can of compressed air.

You will need to remove the metal flame cover to gain access to the flue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rvpic.gif
Views:	53
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	57028   Click image for larger version

Name:	yhst-17908773761865_2207_2374780.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	103.2 KB
ID:	57030   Click image for larger version

Name:	Camper Fridge 001.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	284.6 KB
ID:	57031  
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Fridge Operation and Trouble shooting.pdf (95.6 KB, 18 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 12:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herk7769 View Post
The flue may have a bug nest in it. (Does not affect the AC heater).

Try blowing it out with a can of compressed air.

You will need to remove the metal flame cover to gain access to the flue.
Just asking, would a can have enough pressure to clear it?
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 12:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 605
I'm still learning about these things but wouldn't the freezer getting down to -4 indicate that the heating systems are working correctly and that the problem is somewhere else?
__________________

__________________
2015 F150 Ecoboost
2014 Palomini 142 CK
keith_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, gas

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.