Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2015, 05:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
CampLife2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 24
Fridge working on electricity, but not gas.

Hi all. So, the fridge in my 2014 Viking 17FQ works on electricity, but not gas. I tried running on gas one time last year and it worked. But now it just clicks until the check light comes on.

I've looked online and all the symptoms of the issue I can find are rust and debris related. But that isn't the issue here because I keep the vents covered when not in use so it looks brand new in there. Not even so much as a spider's nest.

It's not a big deal, I always get full hook-up sites, more principal. I'll admit that when I have tried the gas mode, my camper was not level at all. Not sure if that makes all the difference of lighting or not lighting.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
CampLife2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 06:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,748
Quote:
Originally Posted by CampLife2014 View Post
Hi all. So, the fridge in my 2014 Viking 17FQ works on electricity, but not gas. I tried running on gas one time last year and it worked. But now it just clicks until the check light comes on.

I've looked online and all the symptoms of the issue I can find are rust and debris related. But that isn't the issue here because I keep the vents covered when not in use so it looks brand new in there. Not even so much as a spider's nest.

It's not a big deal, I always get full hook-up sites, more principal. I'll admit that when I have tried the gas mode, my camper was not level at all. Not sure if that makes all the difference of lighting or not lighting.

Thanks!
Next time your on level ground light it up. That will eliminate the unlevel ground concern.
__________________

__________________
Still Kickin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 06:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 594
If it has not been used for a long time there may be air in the gas line. It might take several reset attempts to get it lit.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 23lb
Toddupton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 06:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 138
And, make sure that you have a good battery. The ignitor is 12V. If you don't have a good battery that's what it can do ---- it'll click but never ignite.
__________________
bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 07:22 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
CampLife2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 24
@bruceatlam My battery isn't good, but I've also tried using the gas while plugged into my house. It clicks but won't light.
__________________
CampLife2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 07:23 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
CampLife2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 24
@toddupton I've done 3-4 cycles of it clicking before the check light comes on the last time I tried; is that enough?
__________________
CampLife2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 07:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 594
Might take more depending on how long the gas line run is. You could turn it off and crack the flare fitting until you smell gas then tighten it back up. Just make sure it is turned of just in case. You can also try a long stick lighter and see if the burner will light. That might help narrow down the problem.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 23lb
Toddupton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 01:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
Are you following the lighting instructions carefully? Make sure to operate the refer level if on over .5 hours..how about a make and model on fridge?
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 08:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
waiter21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 627
Purge gas lines. Light your stove burners to make sure gas is in the lines. Try a couple times on the frig after lighting the stove.
__________________
2001 Coachmen Mirada (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue
It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 08:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
dieselguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kansas
Posts: 806
Although the fridge should be reasonably level for any long term use ... level condition has little to do with if the burner lights. Like waiter21 mentioned ... open a gas valve to any burner on your stove until it lights ... this will purge any air from the line and your fridge should light after that. If it still doesn't ... you may have a gas valve solenoid at the fridge issue or something got into the orfice of the burner from say inside the hose or when you attached the line to your tank last time.
__________________

__________________
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, fridge, gas

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.