Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 10:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 259
Question Furnace & A/C unit running at same time

We recently purchased a used 2011 Wildcat 28RKS. Everything works beautifully except when I set the thermostat to heat, the furnace comes on and heats great but at the same time the roof top air comes on!I talked to the previous owner (friend of ours) and they hadn't run into the issue.
It's a single zone Dometic LCD thermostat .
Any suggestions?
Going camping for Easter weekend and its still chilly so we will need some heat.
__________________

__________________
Filterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,008
See if this helps with your problem:

Thermostat problems Tracer 3150BHD

Here is an excerpt from this other forum. It has to do with the settings on your digital thermostat not being set to auto

Quote:
Originally Posted by grhodes50 View Post
to the forum.


Just in case, maybe this will help.

Use the On/Off Mode button to select FAN. Then use the +/- button to select either Hi, Lo or Auto. When using the AC and the fan is in the Hi or Lo setting it will run continuously while the compressor will cycle on and off. In the Auto mode the fan will cycle on and off as well.

If the fan is set on Hi or Lo while using the furnace, the AC fan will run continuously, so be sure to set the fan on Auto when using the furnace. You can, however, leave the AC fan running while using the furnace to help with condensation problems.

Use the On/Off Mode button to select COOL. Use the +/- button to select the thermostat temperature setting. (same procedures for the furnace)

When using the AC in the Auto mode the fan will run on high when the room temperature is 5º or higher than the thermostat setting. When the room temperature drops to within 4º or less than the thermostat setting, the fan will stop for a few seconds the start again in the Lo mode.
Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 9,506
You need to change the fan mode. If ya got the Tstat manual look on page 8 & 9. Like stated in post above 'be sure to set the fan on Auto when using the furnace'
__________________
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:26 AM   #4
Member
 
greenliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 97
We had this same problem with our new Salem. Took it in, and the tech found a wiring problem down at the furnace (which is under the dinette seat). Apparently it was a relatively simple job to fix once the problem had been isolated.
__________________
If you can't wake up with a smile on your face, go to bed with a coat hanger in your mouth!!

2005 Ford F150 5.4
2011 Salem 21FBS
greenliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 04:46 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
crunchman12001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Posts: 3,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiscampsin View Post
You need to change the fan mode. If ya got the Tstat manual look on page 8 & 9. Like stated in post above 'be sure to set the fan on Auto when using the furnace'
X2
__________________
2017 Salem Villa Estate 395RET-
2011 Coachmen Freedom Express 295RLDS- Sold
2015 F-250 FX4
crunchman12001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:23 PM   #6
Toy-aholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chalfont, PA
Posts: 708
Our walk through tech actually showed us that same thing...said it's a good way to add more circulation....not a defect.
__________________
2005 GMC Sierra 3500 SLT DRW 6.6 D/A
2013 Crusader 335BHS TE
EXGMTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 12:09 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: White Rock BC
Posts: 259
Thx WMTire and Wiscampsin.You are correct. It's a thermostat setting. I reset the fan on the thermostat to "auto" and the problem went away. It's an option depending on how you program it. GMT, you're right in saying te circulation is. Good....just don't want it running all the time.....noisy.Thx to all
Cheers
Filterman
__________________

__________________
Filterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.