Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2015, 12:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Furnace blows fuses constantly....help!!!

We bought our Lacrosse in April 15. We've had multiple issues with the HVAC. The latest one is baffling. Our furnace is blowing fuses often. We've had it serviced by the dealer, serviced by a mobile repair, authorized by the dealer both found nothing wrong and it still does it.

Theres no rhyme or reason to when it blows. Last night it ran off and on throughout the night with no issues. Today, its blown 2 fuses. We bought this camper to camp year round, but can't because the Furnace keeps blowing fuses..

Atwood AFMD30111_a

Looking for help because dealer now won't answer or return our calls.
__________________

__________________
Weissert12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel,NJ
Posts: 5,021
Change out fuse to resettable circuit breaker. Then you may be able to track down the problem. It may just draw a little more power to start a hot/warm blower motor than a cold motor. Just my thought from playing with cars!
__________________

__________________
A32Deuce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 01:39 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,322
Sounds like something is shorting out intermittently. It could be the sail switch or some wiring that's close to the frame of the furnace that intermittently makes contact. Those type things can be a bugger to find.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 02:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 833
furnaces dont seem as reliable as they once were. consider a catalytic add on. youll have a backup when the atwood fails and you can use both and not have that cycling as much.
__________________
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 08:39 AM   #5
I Break Everything
 
mikel68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lampasas, TX
Posts: 370
Something similar to this happened to us with a 5th wheel we used to own. It wasn't a FR, but still made with all the same parts. It was in and out of service, changing all kinds of things...turned out it was the entire breaker box that had to be replaced. After that, no more problems. Good Luck.
__________________

2015 Georgetown Forest River 351DS MH
2008 Keystone Cougar 293SAB 5th Wheel
2007 Jay Flight 30.5RLS 5th Wheel
2006 Jay Flight 29BHS TT
mikel68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 09:38 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,563
What else stops working when furnace blows fuse? Could be mis wired and another high current device is on same fuse. Also check to see that there is no debris in fan. If fan stalls due to debris or a dead critter, it will blow fuse.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 10:13 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 154
Is the fuse in the electrical center blowing or one at the furnace? Could be nothing wrong with the furnace and it could be the wire from the fuse box to the furnace is shorted. You need to get a meter and determine what amps the furnace is pulling
__________________
clutchd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 10:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 137
i will second the opinion to use a resettable breaker, but for TEMPORARY diagnostic purposes when you have the time to watch it.

if its popping the breaker and theirs no obvious signs of shorting/heating of wires, its your call if you want to just keep the breaker, though i personally would not recommend it. wouldnt be the first electrical fire behind a circuit breaker and sure as heck wouldnt want you to wake up to a fire in the middle of the night!

not sure what, if any diagnostics have been done as of yet, or if its all just been visual inspections but If your really bored, i would hook up an ammeter (multimeter) inline with the fuse/circuit breaker and watch it as the furnace cycles. could just be a faulty motor that is drawing an excessive startup load occasionally. Just have a few drinkys and watch the meter and cycle the furnace! would be a great help to have someone shake wires and rattle things around while you watch the meter too.
__________________
'14 XLR 395AMP
'16 Ram 3500 DRW, 6.7 cummins w/aisin trans and 4.10 gears
ykdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 11:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel,NJ
Posts: 5,021
You are correct in not leaving it in with out fixing the problem. But, I have found when there is no visible signs then you either use a re-settable or like I like to use, a Power Probe. Best toy but a little pricy unless you have multiple uses.
__________________
A32Deuce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 02:34 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weissert12 View Post
We bought our Lacrosse in April 15. We've had multiple issues with the HVAC. The latest one is baffling. Our furnace is blowing fuses often. We've had it serviced by the dealer, serviced by a mobile repair, authorized by the dealer both found nothing wrong and it still does it.

Theres no rhyme or reason to when it blows. Last night it ran off and on throughout the night with no issues. Today, its blown 2 fuses. We bought this camper to camp year round, but can't because the Furnace keeps blowing fuses..

Atwood AFMD30111_a

Looking for help because dealer now won't answer or return our calls.
Hi make sure all the wire connections are tight. A loose connection will add resistance lowering the voltage to the furnace raising the amp draw blowing the fuse. disconnect the battery and shore power and make sure all screw connections and wire nuts or crimps are tight to the converter in the converter and leaving it

Hope This Helps Tim
__________________

__________________
TimVWulp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.