Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2014, 12:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Furnace won't work on battery

I can't get my Suburban NT20SQ furnace to work when running on the batteries. I have dual deep cycle batteries that are both fully charged (V ~ 13.6V) and two full bottles of propane. The furnace works perfectly on 120Vac but won't ignite when running on batteries. The blower comes on but the heater never ignites.

Any ideas what might be wrong?

Thanks,
Dave
__________________

__________________
dbusse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 02:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
onequicksportster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sw Ohio
Posts: 119
Are you sure you have L.P supplying it? Try purging to your stove eye, once you have gas there, turn off the stove eye, and try the furnace again..
__________________

__________________
2015 F250 psd CC Sb 4x4
2007 Wildcat 28rks 5'ver
2005 Harley Davidson
2009 Weimaraner "Dog"
onequicksportster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 06:05 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Disconnect your shore power, start furnace and check voltage at battery while furnace is running and it should be above 12 volts. That will tell us if battery capacity is good or not.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:17 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
Guys,

Thanks for the reply. I've already purged the propane lines. When on shore power the battery voltage measures ~ 13.2+V (can't remember exact value - trailer in storage). The deep cycle batteries are new and fully charged. Battery voltages have been confirmed w/ both volt meter and trimetric battery monitor. Both meters agree that the batteries are nominally 13.5V+.

Dave
__________________
dbusse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbusse View Post
I can't get my Suburban NT20SQ furnace to work when running on the batteries. I have dual deep cycle batteries that are both fully charged (V ~ 13.6V) and two full bottles of propane. The furnace works perfectly on 120Vac but won't ignite when running on batteries. The blower comes on but the heater never ignites.

Any ideas what might be wrong?

Thanks,
Dave
When on shore power the converter (12V) is powering the furnace and since the blower comes on when off shore power the battery input to furnace seems ok. Not sure where the switch over between converter and battery input to furnace occurs. I'm with you, seems strange why one and not the other. Setting thermostat to higher temp?
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:48 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 5
I've adjusted the thermostat up to 85 degrees. The blower responds correctly but I get no response from the igniter (when on battery). Everything works great when on shore power. I'm thinking that maybe the controller board is bad?

Dave
__________________
dbusse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:50 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbusse View Post
Guys,

Thanks for the reply. I've already purged the propane lines. When on shore power the battery voltage measures ~ 13.2+V (can't remember exact value - trailer in storage). The deep cycle batteries are new and fully charged. Battery voltages have been confirmed w/ both volt meter and trimetric battery monitor. Both meters agree that the batteries are nominally 13.5V+.

Dave
A fully charged battery is ~12.6v. If you are reading more than that then the batteries are being charged. Being that the furnace works on shore power but not on batteries means you don't have a gas problem. It sounds like you have a problem with the transfer switch. It provides 12v to the furnace through the converter while on shore power, but maybe not switching over to battery after disconnecting it. Also, make sure your batteries are fully charged. Measure them without shorepower hooked up, engine running, or on generator power.

Edit: just read that your blower is running. I wouldn't think it's your board since it works fine while on shore power. Not sure how the igniter system works, but maybe it requires a certain voltage before it even attempts to fire and the blower does not...and if the blower is running, and your batteries are low, then the blower is dropping the voltage even lower.

Dunno, start with getting a good reading on your batteries.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:53 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Start it on shore, then unplug the power, what happens?
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 09:10 AM   #9
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Sounds like a defective gas valve if the batteries are full charged.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 09:28 AM   #10
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,732
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Sounds like a defective gas valve if the batteries are full charged.
Explain how the defective gas valve works fine on shore power and not
on battery power??

I'm with most of the crowd here- You need to measure the
voltage AT the furnace when on shore power and then again on battery
power.
The only thing I can imagine making it act like this is low voltage when on
battery power.
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.