Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Genesis GT-3.0

I have a Genesis GT-3.0 which worked fine on the first trip, but after that the power light stays on and nothing else works. That includes everything, display, radio, DVD, etc.. Any suggestions on what could cause this???
__________________

__________________
nelson931 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:40 AM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Like any computer, the radio may "lock up" for various reasons. The GT3 is a lot more than your average DVD player.

Heat, moisture, damp, voltage fluctuations or spikes, or a low battery can cause what you are seeing. In fact it can persist even after the condition that caused it is removed.

Bring the camper up (or down) to normal temperature and reset the radio by removing power from the unit completely. This can be done by completely removing power from the camper (Shore and Battery) for about 30 seconds; finding the main power fuse for the 12 volt power wire going to the radio (may be located in a pigtail fuse holder behind the main power center - remove the screws that hold it in and slide out the power center to access it); or the fuse located on the back of the unit itself (be VERY careful removing the face - it pops off - as it is easy to break).

This should reset the radio and give you control again. Get a good surge protector and/or voltage stabilizer for your camper if you do not have one.

There are several threads here regarding surge and power line conditioners.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 06:18 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Make sure one of your remote buttons is not stuck down. This happened to me and the red eject LED kept flashing all the time.
__________________
jwb41950 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:35 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Question Genesis GT3-0 Will Not Turn On

I am a novice RV'er. I am on my second trip in fact.
On the first trip, my Genesis GT3-0 worked fine. This trip the red power light goes on, but the unit will not go on when I press it.
I also have a Sirius Radio that will not power up at all.
I read this post from Nov 20, 2012 that talked about pulling the 15 amp fuse for a moment and retrying it. I have tried that with out luck.
Is there another voltage regulation system, of some other issue options anyone knows about. I don't understand how the red light glows if there is no power to the unit.

Thank you everyone...... in advance

Tuck1964
__________________
Tuck1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 10:32 AM   #5
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Sorry for your inconvenience.

When you took the fuse out did the red light go out? If not, it was not the correct fuse.

With no power to the satellite radio, you will need to pull the radio and check the wiring connections and fuses here.
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:05 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Hey Bob,
BTW, I lived in Ashby MA for a while Born in Concord actually. GO "B's"
I took the unit out of the wall...... spaghetti of wires........ the 15 amp fuse is not blown. The wiring all seems good. When I took the 15 amp fuse out of the main panel, the unit power light (red) went off. Is there a way to "reset" the unit?
__________________
Tuck1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:13 PM   #7
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuck1964 View Post
Hey Bob,
BTW, I lived in Ashby MA for a while Born in Concord actually. GO "B's"
I took the unit out of the wall...... spaghetti of wires........ the 15 amp fuse is not blown. The wiring all seems good. When I took the 15 amp fuse out of the main panel, the unit power light (red) went off. Is there a way to "reset" the unit?
You just did. Wait a few minutes; replace the fuse and put it back together.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:52 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
OH WELL. I pulled the fuse waited 15 minutes and still no luck. Thank you for the try. I'm in Colorado for a trip and unfortunately I can not get any help here. I just bought the thing in April, so I hope its under some warranty.
Thanks again.

Tuck
__________________
Tuck1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:54 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuck1964 View Post
OH WELL. I pulled the fuse waited 15 minutes and still no luck. Thank you for the try. I'm in Colorado for a trip and unfortunately I can not get any help here. I just bought the thing in April, so I hope its under some warranty.
Thanks again.

Tuck
Contact your dealer ASAP. There should be a 1 year warranty.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 07:04 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3
I have a new 2014 Rockwood Windjammer with kind of same problem my Bluetooth will not get sound it shows it is connected on the display but we cannot hear anything. We pulled out and checked the back wiring everything looked ok I guess (lol). Dealer was no help at all. Even tried to call Genesis just keep getting a voice mail. So frustrated in Alabama any ideas?
__________________

__________________
LisaMike0322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.