Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2016, 11:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Burnking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Live Oak, CA
Posts: 39
Heater Thermostat

I installed a digital thermostat. Honeywell 2 schedule. Ac works fine but no heat. Wires in Mini Lite 2304ks, blue,gray, green, yellow, white, red. Thermo contact strip calls for blue, orange, green, yellow, white, red. I put gray to orange. Red is jumpered. Thermo has switch to select gas/oil or electric/heat pump.

Any thought? Thanks
__________________

__________________
Burnking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:50 AM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
Did you take a picture of the wiring of the original T-stat before you unhooked the wires?

Do you have the models of the old and new thermostats that you could give us?

The switch should be set to gas/oil.

Here's how it should be wired, but there's no guarantee.

Red = +12v
Yellow = Comp
White = Furnace
Blue = Hi Fan
Gray = Fan
Green = -12v
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 01:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Burnking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Live Oak, CA
Posts: 39
No photo. Seemed straight forward all wires the same except gray. Old thermo was Coleman Mach black. 2016 trailer. New thermo Honeywell RTH2300B. Is there a way to jump the wires to test heater? Worked fine with old thermo. AC works fine with new thermo.
__________________
Burnking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:23 PM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
I gave you Dometic wire colors. Here are the colors for the Coleman.

Red = +12v (Hook to ""R"/RC" terminal)
Yellow = Comp (Hook to "Y" terminal)
White = Furnace (Hook to "W" terminal)
Blue = -12v (Not Used)
Gray = Low Fan (Not Used)
Green = Hi Fan (Hook to "G" terminal)

You can hook the Gray to the "G" terminal if you want low fan speed instead of high (Not Recommended).
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 11:27 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
Did you get this worked out? I'd like to know if it is working for you?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 03:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Burnking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Live Oak, CA
Posts: 39
Turns out it is the wrong thermostat. Not 12 volt. Talked to Honeywell, tech asking me to check for 24 volts. Ask where that would come from!! Heat works fine if you jump white wire to 12 v supply. Will get a correct thermostat when I return home. Thanks for you assistance and concern.
__________________
Burnking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 04:04 PM   #7
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
None of these home replacement thermostats people are using to replace RV thermostats are 12 volt. They power the stat with batteries so you don't need 24 volts to the thermostat.

The people at Honeywell will tell you that it won't work, but there have been several people that have installed them in the RV's (me being one) and they work flawlessly.

Did you try it like I posted above for the Coleman hookup?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 05:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Burnking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Live Oak, CA
Posts: 39
Well then what am I doing wrong. I hooked it as you suggested. Did not run. I thought it worked at home because I was on shore power. Green to green, yellow to yellow, white to white and red to red. Blue and gray bot used.
__________________
Burnking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 08:35 PM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
Do you have the switch set for gas heat? Even if you do, flip it back and forth a few times and leave it set to gas/oil.

It's possible that you have a bad t-stat. There was one other report of problems and it was a bad t-stat.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 12:04 PM   #10
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,414
Just covering all bases here.

When trying to run the furnace are you flipping the switch on the front of the t-stat to heat and raising the setpoint above ambient temperature?

I know it seems obvious, but I've done more boneheaded stuff when trying to figure out why something isn't working.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heater, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.