Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2015, 10:10 PM   #11
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldgold View Post
That may be some special splitter designed for satellite install then. If the OP only has cable in, his splitters won't work. Coot, if you have time and it's not a mess to take a picture can you post it? I am curious as to what type of 4way splitter you have.
I will if I can remember, bad case of CRS. PM me in the morning.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 08:09 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 8
My receiver is a ViP 211Z
__________________

__________________
gbrownhusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 09:32 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,702
There are special splitters that allow the 12 volt current through. That is what OC has.


2010 F250 5.4L 3.73
2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Equal-i-zer 4pt 12K
__________________

2011 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
2010 F250 4X4 5.4L 3.73 LS
EQUALIZER E4 1200/12000
lbrjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 09:47 AM   #14
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrjet View Post
There are special splitters that allow the 12 volt current through. That is what OC has.
Bought it on ebay.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01647.JPG
Views:	118
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	85929  
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 10:17 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
BooBoo23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: West Atlanta Metro
Posts: 1,108
I don't have satellite but I noted what I had seen on other threads on the subject. The problem is some splitters will not pass the 12v power needed to operate the antenna. The answer I saw was to get a splitter with a different frequency operation. Apparently you can purchase a 5mhz-2.4ghz splitter at Home Depot or Lowes for less than $8 that will work. It is an Ideal Brand model 85-333, just do a search on either website. I can't say it will work but people that made he change said it does work so it is worth a try for those of you that have only a cable in port. Fortunately, if I ever get a satellite system I have a separate satellite in port on my TT.
__________________
2014 Palomino Puma 25RS
2011 F-150 Super Crew XLT
Days camped in 2014 - 23 Camped 2015-47
Camped 2016-71, 2017-33, 2018-29 booked
BooBoo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 04:39 PM   #16
Member
 
tstillman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver Wa
Posts: 98
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbrownhusker View Post
We just purchased the 26BDH Greywolf. This is our first camper and we are trying to learn but this is really stumping us. Thanks for any help!!
I have watched as many frustrated New RV'ers have strugled with this very problem. It was never an issue with our Class A rig, but when we moved to our FR Wildcat I immediately recognized the condition when it happened. I didn't waste too much time trying to make my portable satellite dish work.

I simply added a direct weather proof plugin through the wall behind my TV console and added a remote 12volt plug to power my dish. Not only did I get excellent Full HD signal in, I could use the HDMI cable between sat reciever and TV which also improved the signal. This freed up the boosted over the air signal in the bedroom and everyone is happy.

Sometimes a little do-it-youself work is the best way to keep things simple.
__________________

Tom Stillman
Vancouver, WA
2012 Forest River Wildcat Sterling Edition
2010 Ford F350 Super cab (With all the junk taken off) With H&S tuner and set of bags on the back.
tstillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 10:30 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
I have a 2016 26DBH Grey Wolf and the same satellite hardware. I couldn't get mine to work either unless direct connected so had the dealer look at it when I took it back for a different problem. Turned out the cable connection in the ceiling was blown. Because the dish outside gets the power through the cable it was too much for the OEM connection with the 12 volt outlet built in.

The dealer replaced it with a different connection so it now has one outlet for the antenna with a little push button to turn on/off and another outlet for the satellite receiver that connects to the outside. Works great now. It looks like this:
http://www.rvpartscountry.com/TV-Sat...ceptacle.html#

I also added a 2nd outside connection and line into the bedroom so I can use a 2nd receiver as the outlet in the bedroom ceiling is for the antenna.

As mentioned, you do need to be direct connected to setup the receiver but sounds like you have done that already.
__________________
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 02:23 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 411
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...1&d=1435515931
__________________
TimVWulp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 03:45 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Tom48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 1,005
At the simplest level Cable In runs to the back of the main TV hookup that has the antenna amplifier button. It splits from there to usually the main and bedroom TV jacks. Whether it is the splitter there or the electronics, a sat signal will not pass it. On the back of that TV antenna power supply one cable is Cable In. If you want to pull it off and use it it will work as your Sat feed. If not, CW and other shops sell a kit you can install through the wall to create a dedicated sat hook up. I did the latter. Works fine.
__________________
Tom48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 08:29 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 689
I'm following along here. We just had direct tv installed in out 25DS with lead coming off of the dish on our home. Got the TT parked right next to the house. I have the cable-sat connector on the left rear of the TT so the tech hooked in there then went inside and ran the lead off of a connector behind the tv to the receiver and all is working real well.


Bad news is I had bought the that big honkin Amazon.com: Winegard GM-2000 White Carryout G2 Automatic Portable Satellite TV Antenna: Automotive Winegard portable dish which the tech says might not work. Called Wingard and they say it will work with this H24 receiver. So maybe I can hook it in and try it Saturday.
__________________

__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.