Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2016, 07:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
Hopkins TPMS

I was given a Hopkins TPMS for Christmas. When I set it up my TV was sitting beside the trailer and all was well. When I hooked up I could only get readings from the left side tires. My trailer is 27 ft long and TV is an F150. So it's really not that long of a distance between axels and the receiver. I now have a repeater for the TPMS and am wondering where the best place to mount it. I was thinking either the pass through or the bed of the truck. I know most prefer the 507 and I understand that but I have this and would like to make it work. Does anyone use this set up or have any suggestions. Thanks a bunch.
__________________

__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 09:32 PM   #2
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Don't use hopkins but I mounted my repeater under the trailers frame where the j-box is from all the trailer 7 round wiring merges.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 10:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
So I'm guessing yours is water proof. Mine Isn't so it has to be inside. I've seen where some have put thier's in a cabinet in the bedroom which makes sense but my issue is a power source there. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 08:17 AM   #4
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
Yes it is. Maybe mount it in a front storage compartment, in behind the brake light of the tow vehicle's. If you have a hard cover over the propane tanks, put it under there?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 09:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
All great ideas. Especially under the propane tank cover. That gives me an idea of a water proof box mounted on the tongue next to the battery. Thanks for the idea.
__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 07:42 PM   #6
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,825
I made a water proof box for my jeep lights once. Got the box from radio shack (pre amazon) and sealed it by making a gasket from rv and such. It was 3 x 5 x2 made for a few relays for off road lighting. Worked great as another idea. I am sure a box could be had from Amazon. Could even use a lock n lock to allow quick access.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 07:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
That's what I think I'm going to do. HD has a parts box that may work. I'll check Amazon too. Thanks. Isn't this forum great?
__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 09:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Stormrider151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South East
Posts: 915
Well, here's what I did. Per Hopkins I attached the repeater to my bed cover at the very back of the truck and can plug it in to the 12 volt plug I installed there. I couldn't find a box that was appropriate for the size of the repeater with the antenna's extended. We have a trip planned in two weeks so we'll see how this works. If not I'll punt and try something else. Thanks for the suggestions.
__________________

__________________
Retired Fire Dept Battalion Chief
2016 Ever-Lite 232RBS
2012 F150 FX4 W/Max tow & Ecoboost

Getting old ain't for wimps!!!
Stormrider151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.