Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2015, 08:54 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Inverter for fridge is not powering

Hi. When I press the inverter switch button, the green light comes on, but I do not hear a "click" and the fridge does not power up. (Fridge is fine on shore power or generator.) Is there a breaker some where for the inverter? I could not feel one on it. It is mounted in the enclosed compartment above the propane tank on driver's side. Someone mentioned a bad relay? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
slmckel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 09:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,606
Quote:
Originally Posted by slmckel View Post
Hi. When I press the inverter switch button, the green light comes on, but I do not hear a "click" and the fridge does not power up. (Fridge is fine on shore power or generator.) Is there a breaker some where for the inverter? I could not feel one on it. It is mounted in the enclosed compartment above the propane tank on driver's side. Someone mentioned a bad relay? Thanks!
Don't know what invertor you have but check for a fuse on it.
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 09:10 AM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
If the green light is coming on then it is obviously turning on.

Have you checked output voltage on the inverter?

TURBS
2008 duramax
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "31 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 09:12 AM   #4
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 4,817
Or the battery... Could it be to low to supply the power for the fridge but enough to light it up.
__________________

Pat, Jen & Heather... Oh yeah and our trained attack trailer cat, Cinnamon-EOW 11/22/2017
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 09:18 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc73 View Post
Or the battery... Could it be to low to supply the power for the fridge but enough to light it up.
True

TURBS
2008 duramax
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "31 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 12:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
There is a GFI on the inverter itself where the frig is plugged it. I bet that it has popped. Mine did that. The remote switch will glow green since the inverter doesn't know the GFI is popped. Bet that is your problem.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 01:00 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post
There is a GFI on the inverter itself where the frig is plugged it. I bet that it has popped. Mine did that. The remote switch will glow green since the inverter doesn't know the GFI is popped. Bet that is your problem.
Good catch.

TURBS
2008 duramax
2015 columbus 320RS
2015 camping "31 nights"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 02:10 PM   #8
Rodney & Patty
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Newport, NY
Posts: 53
With mine, if I don't remember to turn it off before plugging in shore power, it will not work when I go back to the invertor. Each time this happens I have to pull the fuse for a few seconds with the switch off, reinstall the fuse and power it back up. It's a pain and happens often...
__________________
Working because we have to - camping because we want to.


2015 Salem Hemishere 337 BAR
2014 Ram 3500SRW Laramie 6.7 I6
rdenslow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 02:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
That is possible depending on the model of inverter and the installation. Georgetown uses a Xantrex inverter and a Xantrex transfer switch dedicated to the reefer. I suppose it could trigger what you are describing but if I remember correctly, the Xantrex ProWatt inverters do not have an external fuse. In addition, if the fuse needed to be removed I would expect that the remote switch would not glow green in the interim.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 03:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
14 CC 38CK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 171
I am gonna have to check mine because when I tried to use it this summer it didn't work either
__________________

__________________
14 CC 38CK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge, inverter, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.