Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 10:20 PM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
Hi All:

I looked for the specs on the Legend TV also with no luck.

If the TV says 4 amps, and its 12 VDC input, then 48 Watts.

As far as the transformer stating 1.5 amps at 120 VAC (180 Watts) input, 4.58 amps at 12 VDC (55 Watts) output - welcome to the wonderful world of switching power supplies, not very efficient but small and inexpensive to make.

Thats why they recommend not keeping wall warts plugged in when not in use, they still use several to 10's of watts even when not connected to a device (thus the term "parasite" load).
Thank you! I always wondered about that.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:22 PM   #12
Member
 
Barnman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 53
Onetonford you are the man! I didn't even think about polarity, I just matched the polarity of the output of the 110 xformer to the adapter and bingo Bango bongo the tv will now work with only 12V thank you for your help! Oh and herk when I was talking amps it was all the rating for 12V, I didn't even look at the 110 amps. Now I think I better go get some 5amp fast acting and put in the adapter.
__________________

__________________
Barnman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:22 PM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,155
Now, back to the OP.

If the unit only pulls 4 amps DC why is it blowing fuses?
Something is still not clicking.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:25 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
have you tried plugging anything else into outlet to see if it blows the fuse ?
that would eliminate outlet .
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:26 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,155
Double win!

You fixed your issue and I learned something new.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 10:31 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnman1 View Post
Onetonford you are the man! I didn't even think about polarity, I just matched the polarity of the output of the 110 xformer to the adapter and bingo Bango bongo the tv will now work with only 12V thank you for your help! Oh and herk when I was talking amps it was all the rating for 12V, I didn't even look at the 110 amps. Now I think I better go get some 5amp fast acting and put in the adapter.
Thank You
That was the first thing I did when I made the 12V power cord on Mine you would think the TV manufactures would give you a 12V power cord on a 12V TV???
__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 11:38 PM   #17
Member
 
Barnman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 53
Yes I know that is the same thing I thought. Low voltage tv but using 120 with xformer. I also couldn't just get a 12V adapter, I had to get an adapter to connect to the adapter that would fit in the tv. Radio shack had adapters A through Z and being just two pronged they could connect either way. Now in my shame, I am an Electronic Tech, I should have known to check the polarity on something DC before I even connected it.
__________________
Barnman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:06 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
onetonford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 626
The adapter I also bought from radio Shack it also was two prong Right angle I also put a piece of heat shrink over it to hold it from pulling apart.
__________________

__________________

2001 Ford F-350 DRW 7.3
2011 25 RL Wildcat
former fiver 1976 Fourwinds had for 35 years
onetonford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.