Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2015, 01:33 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymtn57 View Post
Im 1000 mls. away trying to help my mother who is using the RV in Rockport , Tx.
I had a service guy there last week and all he did was push the reset button in the RV fuse panel. Thank you , D
Push a reset button?? Like the kind on a GFI? The breakers should be similar to the ones in your house.. I'm not sure what the tech would be pushing?
__________________

__________________
Camped: 2017 (Days/Nights) - 30/25
2016 (Days/Nights) - 32/23, 2015 Nights - 29

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2014 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
I'm thinking there's some confusion regarding resetting the GFCI outlet in the bathroom, and the main breaker in the power center...

Maybe you should ask mom whether the microwave, tv, or whatever you have in the TT that's 120V is working...
__________________

__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:39 PM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymtn57 View Post
2005 Flagstaff , Main breaker keeps popping off ?
With only one appliance (hair dryer ) trying to run.
Now it wont reset , is it just weak ?

Im trying to help my mother who is staying in it 1000 mls. away from me.

Thank you , D
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymtn57 View Post
Im 1000 mls. away trying to help my mother who is using the RV in Rockport , Tx.
I had a service guy there last week and all he did was push the reset button in the RV fuse panel. Thank you , D
The circuit breaker(s) controls the 120 volt stuff........ fuses protect the 12 volt stuff. They are different animals.

She is limited to 30 amps worth of total power for her 120 volt stuff. A 1500 watt hair dryer uses 12.5 amps in itself.

The fact that the circuit breaker is not resetting can be caused by a few things. There may be a problem in the electric supply somewhere, she may be still overloading the 30 amp total, and/or a weak faulty breaker now.

1. Are you sure she is completely turning the tripped breaker all the way off, then back on. If she is just trying to turn it back on from it's tripped position, without going to the point of turning it all the way off....then back on.....it's not going to reset. She has to turn it fully off, then back on.

2. Is she running an air conditioner, coffee pot, microwave also during this. I know you said only one appliance, but she may have forgot something else. Here again we have to stay under 30 amps total.

3. Is she running the hot water heater on electric, utilizing the electric heating element. These can sometimes burn out and cause electric breakers to trip.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:54 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Glen maybe it is a breaker she is switching , she called it a button. Im still reading the rest of last posts. 1 min.
__________________
rkymtn57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:05 PM   #15
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymtn57 View Post
Glen maybe it is a breaker she is switching , she called it a button. Im still reading the rest of last posts. 1 min.
This is a GFCI outlet, with a reset button.



This is a 30 amp inside main circuit breaker as indicated in your first post. You may have the terminology confused as to what she is actually trying to reset.



and this is the 30 amp main circuit breaker on the outside pedestal

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Man Wmtire you are good ! Thank you so much . Yes , She just got back to RV from errands. Im waiting......Thank you ...
__________________
rkymtn57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:34 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Its the 30amp inside main that is breaking. They told me one air conditioner in this 30' trailer is 30 amp.
__________________
rkymtn57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:42 PM   #18
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkymtn57 View Post
Its the 30amp inside main that is breaking. They told me one air conditioner in this 30' trailer is 30 amp.
So she has no 120 volt power to anything then, correct? The microwave lights are off?

OK, once the circuit breaker trips, is she then fully turning it to the off position.....then back to the on position?

If so, then you might want to test turning off all of the subcircuit breakers (the 20 and 15 amp ones). Then try to reset the main circuit breaker. If it does reset correctly, then you can turn on each of the subcircuit breakers one by one, to see if it's one of those that's tripping the main breaker.

She does need to turn her air conditioner off with the thermostat before attempting any of this, if she is running it.......but if the main is tripped it should be off anyhow.

One more question, is it raining/snowing where she is at? The reason I ask is there may be water shorting something out in the cord or outside.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:42 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 32
Ok Wmtire , Im understanding your posts , thank you ....Yes , she is running the hot water on elect. because she cant go and refill gas bottles but turns it off when not needed. I got ya 30amp only at a time.... I dont think she is using Air Cond. its cool there. Im thinking of all elect. appliances including Refrigerator. Thanks

Im waiting on her.
__________________
rkymtn57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 02:50 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Poconos, PA
Posts: 79
I'm an electrician and started reading this post with the intent to assist,,

However wmtire has you well taken care of...

I'll keep watching in case I can be of help..

Joe
__________________

__________________
meganjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.