Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2019, 02:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Question Microwave turns off TV

Hi there. Newbie here. Got an issue with my 16 Freedom Express since new. The microwave and tv are on the same circuit and when the microwave is turned on, the tv shuts itself off. After the micro turns off, the tv will turn back on in approx 30 seconds. The breaker does not trip. Thinking I need some kind of "surge protector" for the tv. Anyone have a similar issue?
__________________

sorrento45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 02:47 PM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,298
It sounds like what you have is a load shed device between the tv and the microwave. The operation you're experiencing is completely normal for that device. They normally put the load shed device between the microwave and fireplace, but it could be between any two appliances on the same circuit.

It could be located near either appliance so you'll probably have to do a little digging to find it. Once you do that you can move the tv to a different circuit or disable the device and see if both the tv and microwave will run without tripping the breaker.

Probably looks something like this.

__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Much Appreciated Bama!. Further investigation proved you were exactly right. I found this box behind my main breaker box. Using the wiring diagram on the top I took the secondary black wire and moved it to the same spot as the primary black wire......basically bypassing this switch.
There is also a fireplace in the same general location as the TV outlet and I am suspecting they intended to put the fireplace on this box, but instead they wired the tv receptacle to it.
Now I know the cause of my original concern, I'm going to look into seeing if it is safe to leave the wiring this way or whether I need to re-wire things permanently.
Hopefully this helps somebody else one day since Google has nothing on this issue.
sorrento45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorrento45 View Post
Much Appreciated Bama!. Further investigation proved you were exactly right. I found this box behind my main breaker box. Using the wiring diagram on the top I took the secondary black wire and moved it to the same spot as the primary black wire......basically bypassing this switch.
There is also a fireplace in the same general location as the TV outlet and I am suspecting they intended to put the fireplace on this box, but instead they wired the tv receptacle to it.
Now I know the cause of my original concern, I'm going to look into seeing if it is safe to leave the wiring this way or whether I need to re-wire things permanently.
Hopefully this helps somebody else one day since Google has nothing on this issue.
Yes, put the fireplace on the box. You can not run the fireplace and the microwave at the same time. they will overload the circuit.
__________________
2002 27rk Wildcat 5er.
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:19 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o6le73evjj20bgh/PSS.jpg?dl=0
sorrento45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 06:04 PM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by sorrento45 View Post
Much Appreciated Bama!. Further investigation proved you were exactly right. I found this box behind my main breaker box. Using the wiring diagram on the top I took the secondary black wire and moved it to the same spot as the primary black wire......basically bypassing this switch.
There is also a fireplace in the same general location as the TV outlet and I am suspecting they intended to put the fireplace on this box, but instead they wired the tv receptacle to it.
Now I know the cause of my original concern, I'm going to look into seeing if it is safe to leave the wiring this way or whether I need to re-wire things permanently.
Hopefully this helps somebody else one day since Google has nothing on this issue.
Glad you found it.

It's perfectly safe to leave it wired as you have it. It sounds as if the fireplace and the microwave are on separate circuits. If that's the case, then there's really nothing else you need to do. Just be aware that running the microwave and fireplace at the same time uses a good amount of your 30 amp service so if anything else is running at the same time you may trip either the main or pedestal breaker. Still nothing about that is unsafe.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
microwave

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 PM.