Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2016, 07:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 38
Multiple Tvs on one Satellite Box

Shortly I am taking delivery of a prime time Crusader 297 RSK. There will be two tvs inside and one outside. Normally there will only be two of us camping and I was wondering if it would be possible to run several TVs off of just one satellite box. All of the TVs would be on the same channel of course. That's fine. I just don't want to have to move the box from one TV to another depending upon where we might be. Any information about whether this is possible or how difficult it would be to run new cables I would appreciate.
__________________

__________________
5ERSTEVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
thevosmans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Labrador NL
Posts: 35
I have a Crusader 295 and I use one satellite receiver for 3 tvs. I have the receiver set up for the tv in the living room and the bedroom and outdoor tvs are on whatever channel is on the only receiver. I am sure I could set up a second receiver but this setup works for us


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
thevosmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:29 PM   #3
Usually Confused Member
 
emm-dee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,610
I'm not sure if the wiring situation would work in the RV you are getting. I have a 60" 4K (all the bells and whistles) in my living room that is used mainly for Amazon Prime, Netflix and Apple TV. Since I rarely watch cable (satellite) in the living room I didn't want to waste money on another receiver. But, sometimes I wanted the cable stuff to show up on that TV.

I got an HDMI splitter from Fry's Electronics. I connected a short HDMI cable from the receiver to the splitter. Then, I connected HDMI cables to the kitchen TV (the receiver is in the kitchen/breakfast room) and another through a wall connection that terminates in the living room. Works great but all tuning has to be done from the kitchen.

Here's the Fry's link for the 4-HDMI output box: FRYS.com¬*|¬*BYTECC
__________________
At some point during every day you suddenly realize nothing else productive is going to happen the rest of that day. For me, it usually occurs around 9 am.

Vengeance 25V (the Harley needed a home)
emm-dee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Alberta
Posts: 137
depends how the unit is prewired i guess.

Not familiar with that particular unit, but if it is prewired with a common coax to all of the wall jacks, you can just use the coax out on the sat reciever and hook it to the "common" coax jack in the living room. presto, youve got the same channel on every tv.

If the living room tv isnt wired with a seperate jack to hook up the satellite/dvd/ect from the TV, just run a seperate (preferably HDMI) cable to that TV. If the unit is prewired for HDMI, Youll need a HDMI splitter to connect them all to the satellite reciever.
__________________
'14 XLR 395AMP
'16 Ram 3500 DRW, 6.7 cummins w/aisin trans and 4.10 gears
ykdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:56 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 5
I wired four televisions in my coach off one receiver. I used a HDMI repeater and an aftermarket RF add on for my remote. It works inside and outside the coach with no problems. I had to run my own 50 foot HDMI from the receiver in the back bedroom to the television in the front room and the first repeater I bought couldn't push the signal that far. I returned it to Amazon and order a 1x8 repeater. I only use half of the outputs but hey, if I want 8 televisions I am set. Maybe for a big football weekend like the Super Bowl or college championship. I can get you links of what I used if your interested. I think I was about $200 total for cables and everything expect the actual satellite receiver.
__________________
NF_Scorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 12:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 38
Yes, you can certainly do this. I did this with my DirecTV receiver with a HDMI Splitter (1 In 2 Out) from Amazon. It works perfectly fine, but as you stated, both TVs (inside and out) will be on the same channel. If you are watching TV outside, you'll have to go inside to change the channel. Very easy setup.
__________________
DocP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 01:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
redcloud1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 285
The only problem you might have is the problem that I have. Or Windjammer is wired with the common coax but our DirecTV receiver no longer has a coax out. Just H DMI
__________________
redcloud1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 02:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
dicky1243's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: SD
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ERSTEVE View Post
Shortly I am taking delivery of a prime time Crusader 297 RSK. There will be two tvs inside and one outside. Normally there will only be two of us camping and I was wondering if it would be possible to run several TVs off of just one satellite box. All of the TVs would be on the same channel of course. That's fine. I just don't want to have to move the box from one TV to another depending upon where we might be. Any information about whether this is possible or how difficult it would be to run new cables I would appreciate.
I don't know what your wireing is but as for being able to watch 2 tv's on different channels you could get a reciever from dish like mine a watch 1 tv in the bedroom and another in lr and watch 2 different stations. It's easy 1st tv can be hdmi'd from reciever and cabled from rec. to the over air (turn off amp.) cable outlet then go to lr and cable that to over air outlet set tv to channel 60 and turn rec. using 2 different remotes to conrtol rec on each tv. dish could set it up for you to be easier on you. this is how mine is set up. I use a tri-pod with a 1000.2 dish and run 2 cables to trl. 1 for 2 tv's 1 for rear br tv. Sierra376BHOK
__________________
2006 Gmc
2016 Forestriver Sierra 376 BHOK
Full Timers
Dick,
dicky1243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 02:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ccsvolsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 250
There is a great video on You Tube that shows how with wiring schematics for several senerios. It is titled something like "How I wired my RV for multiple receivers and satellite".
__________________
ccsvolsfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2016, 08:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ov845's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by redcloud1 View Post
The only problem you might have is the problem that I have. Or Windjammer is wired with the common coax but our DirecTV receiver no longer has a coax out. Just H DMI

We had that issue and solved it by installing a video source selection switch for TV's. Sat. Bluray or antenna, even campground cable hook up to the box each tv can watch a different source or same channel on DirecTv. The video source selection box has inputs for coax and rca cables. I did add 2 signal amplifiers (1 per tv) to get crystal clear picture.


Happy Camping!

2012 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 5'7" Bed
Engine 5.7L Gear 3.92
Airlift 1000
2015 2809W Windjammer
Husky Centerline WDH
__________________

__________________
ov845 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.