Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2012, 09:39 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHuser View Post
If the TV has a headphone jack, you can use that. All you need is a cable with the male jack plug on one end and RCA (female if you are connecting to an existing cable, or male if you are going directly to the audio/DVD unit) connector on the other end.

You will have to adjust the TV volume together sound level you want.

Rick
Only problem I see with this is it would be a mono connection, not sure surround sound can be mfg. from monlaural. I've seen only stereo inputs converted to Dolby 5.1.
Devil Dog you can always plug in a ipod headphone to the jack and see if it is stero. I'd still be wondering if that small power supply can power the length of cable required and fire the amplifier for the system. There are stereo jacks to RCA dual connectors available at the Shack. Maybe good idea to check with a TV or stero shop to see if that headphone jack can handle the transmission if it turns out to be stereo. The specs on line indicate the Audio power is only 2W.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Vince, hard to tell from your photo, but do you have a digital audio out port?
Lou, unlike your Toshiba which came with audio out ports, mine did not. The R/W leads you see were added by FR or their sub contractor. My book does not show them. I did note 1-2 years ago they were a standard port on Toshiba. I couldn't figure what they did, it looks butchered up close, obvious modification. It works, I ain't complaining. This is what the op needs, discreet stereo connections with some power ability.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:05 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. Louisiana
Posts: 13
Well the iPod works with USB, aux jack and with bluetooth. I can also call using the Bluetooth and it goes through surround sound. But the tv still no luck.
__________________
Devi1Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:22 PM   #14
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
Most headphone jacks are stero.

The inputs on the audio/DVD unit are low level inputs, i.e., they normally need mw level inputs to drive the amplifier.

I have never had any problems driving the amp from either a speaker hookup or from a headphone jack. Usually the TV volume needs to be set very low.

By the way, the only way to get "true" 5.1 audio is via a digital connection, either optical or coaxial. Anything else is simulated, part of the signal is sent to the center and back speakers.

Rick
__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 08:11 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Lou, unlike your Toshiba which came with audio out ports, mine did not. The R/W leads you see were added by FR or their sub contractor. My book does not show them. I did note 1-2 years ago they were a standard port on Toshiba. I couldn't figure what they did, it looks butchered up close, obvious modification. It works, I ain't complaining. This is what the op needs, discreet stereo connections with some power ability.
If it was hacked, they should have gone for the line level outputs from the channel amplifiers rather than the speaker outputs if they were doing it right.

You may very well have line levels on those two wires. The static eliminator coil on your wires leads me to believe they just might be line level. If so, just make sure it goes to the audio input on your Genesis and select that input for audio when you watch TV.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 09:29 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Road-King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 645
First off, the only time you would have HDMI "from" the TV "to" a device, is if that device can record HD video. HDMI is one way, like a street, signal goes one way "From" a device "To" a device. So to get sound "from" the TV "to" a device we need to look at something other than HDMI. The Genesis 2.0, I found the manual in the files section on this forum, it and it does not have HDMI anyway. It does have audio red+white RCA input. So now we need to find a source "from" the TV. If the TV does not have RCA audio out jacks, you could use a headset jack, if it has one of those.

Devi1Dog what is the model number on your Konka TV?
__________________
Russ & Kim
2014 Alpine 3600RS
2007 Dodge Ram 3500 5.9 4X4
2008 Harley Davidson Road King 105th Anniversary
(2011-5 bad year)(2012-40)(2013-45)(2014-23)
Road-King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 09:49 AM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Road-King View Post
First off, the only time you would have HDMI "from" the TV "to" a device, is if that device can record HD video. HDMI is one way, like a street, signal goes one way "From" a device "To" a device. So to get sound "from" the TV "to" a device we need to look at something other than HDMI. The Genesis 2.0, I found the manual in the files section on this forum, it and it does not have HDMI anyway. It does have audio red+white RCA input. So now we need to find a source "from" the TV. If the TV does not have RCA audio out jacks, you could use a headset jack, if it has one of those.

Devi1Dog what is the model number on your Konka TV?
Russ, I am sure you were referring to my post and I can see where I could have confused you (and possibly others) about my intent.

The OP stated there was no HDMI on his Genesis. I did not realize the 2.0 version of that sound system did not have the HDMI output on the back like the newer one. Since it is hidden and some installers are still using the yellow RCA to hook up the TV, I thought perhaps he did not know it was there.

My previous posts talk about how to move sound from the TV to the sound system.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 05:48 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devi1Dog View Post
Well the iPod works with USB, aux jack and with bluetooth. I can also call using the Bluetooth and it goes through surround sound. But the tv still no luck.
Devi1Dog, seems the Genesis 2 provides an input for Optical SPDIF audio input. Looks like the feed you need for surround sound. Unfortunately the TV they furnished doesn't have anything this sophisticated. Google that term to see is a newer form of Dolby, it appears to use optic cable or other means, either way the port is orange. I still think a TV shop can bring out the R L channels from your tv like mine pictured above, it works on yours using the AV1 R and W ports? Need to ask about that.

Seems the Genesis book at least on line is as complete as a commercial fishing net, full of holes.....
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:40 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
hotrodj125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Cedar,Minnesota
Posts: 207
Sounds to me that you need a "FIBER-OPTIC" audio cable to run between the 2 components- thats what I did and it works now.
__________________
Rod & Linda Johnson
Cedar, Minnesota
2006 F-250 SD 4x4 6.0
2012 Columbus 320RS
K-9's Lucy & Lizzie
Enjoying Life 1 Campground at a time
hotrodj125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:31 AM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. Louisiana
Posts: 13
Road-king,
It's a konka model number is kk-y343a.
__________________

__________________
Devi1Dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.