Old 03-12-2019, 09:02 AM   #1

Need Electric Engineers help.

I wish to get the skinny on Autotransformers. I'm just a dumb retired electrician of 50 years or so. 35 as a Master. I have been told over the years that an autotransformer DOES NOT use park electricity.

This from Hughes autotrans web site:
The Autoformer DOES NOT take power from the park. It does not affect the park or source voltage, or make electricity. What it DOES is change the voltage (amperage relationship), lowering the amperage requirement by raising the voltage. Since appliances run better on higher voltage with lower amperage, less overall power is used from the park, and better service is enjoyed from your RV.

My simple brain says: Raise the voltage, lower the amperage and in turn lower the KWH. Am I wrong in my thinking?

There seems to be a lot of naysayers on this site that say YES.

I don't need answers from DIY guys. For the first time in my electric career I'm looking for an engineers advice

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 09:40 AM   #2
Site Team

Without going into gory details it is simply a transformer and is trading amps for volts.

DOES NOT use park electricity. This is a confusing statement The device itself does not consume park power ( except for a small inefficiency) but passes slightly altered park power to your RV.

It does not affect the park or source voltage, or make electricity.