Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2014, 06:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Need help setting up directv!!

I have my directv box, not hd but dvr, 18" round dish. I have ran cable from dish to satellite main on outside of sandpiper366fl. And on inside ran cable from satellite port to box and hdmi from box to tv. For some reason my box will not make beeping noise on signal meter so I have no clue when I getting the dish angled correctly. I search for dish pointing by zip code and use compass to point for azimuth and tilt. Still get no signal. The booster button is off for air antenna. I am just lost as to why I can't get anything or what I'm doing wrong.
Any and all help/tips even videoes is appreciated.

Also, due to being under a lot of trees at last campground, I have ran one cable from a fellow campers dish to my camper and split to two cables going into box and worked fine.
__________________

tylerb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
HDMI is for HD TV. If you have a standard box, just run a coax cable from the box to the TV. Sounds like you have a HD box connected to a standard dish. It may not be compatible.


Started Out With Nothing,
Still Have Most Of It Left!
__________________

jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:17 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
No it is not an hd box. Just have hdmi running from box to tv as a preference over coax
tylerb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:22 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
Didn't know standard boxes had HDMI. Just learned something.


Started Out With Nothing,
Still Have Most Of It Left!
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:30 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 194
DirecTV will deactivate your receiver if you haven't used it in a while. Your dish can be pointed in the right direction and you'll still get nothing. Give them a call unless you've used it very recently.
00buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:41 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
The last time it was used was no more than a month ago.
tylerb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 194
I'm not sure how long they wait before cutting you off. Can't hurt to call them - I've also received assistance from their customer service people when I've had trouble setting up..
00buck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerb22 View Post
The last time it was used was no more than a month ago.
Not sure about Directv, but my Dish receiver would not work after sitting for about a week. I had it unplugged and it was not hooked to the dish. I had to call Dish and have them send a signal to get it working again.
__________________
John And Mary
2013 XLR 27 HFS
2013 CHEVROLET 2500 6.6 DURAMAX

Nights Camped 2012 (7) 2013 (33) 2014 (27) 2015 (34) 2016 (4)
Kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wowzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Fremont,Ohio
Posts: 180
Odds are your wiring inside the tt is not correct.
__________________
Jim and Sherri Brown
2013 Silverado 2500 6.6 DuraMax
2012 Sabre 34REQS6
wowzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:07 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
I've tried both the coax port behind the tv. Still get nothing.
tylerb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 08:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 519
If you can, run a cable from the dish directly to the box. Then if you get a signal you can trouble shoot inside the TT.


Started Out With Nothing,
Still Have Most Of It Left!
jwedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 08:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Freds342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
If it worked off a neighbor's dish, using the same cable and interior set-up, it's probably not cabling, but dish alignment or problem.
__________________
2005 Georgetown 342DS XL, Full Banks Package
2005 Liberty Renegade 4X Toad
1989 Wrangler Sahara Toad
1984 19.5' Beachcraft i/o 5.o liter, 4-bbl (and you thought your Moho sucked gas!)
D/W Carole and Maggie the Teacup Lab (Black Chihuahua)
Freds342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 10:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
Did you get it working?
If there is a Radio Shack close you can get a Satellite finder, you hook it up at the dish.

Satellite Finder : Satellite TV Finders | RadioShack.com

Here's one at Camping World.
http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...e-finder/14067

ab&jb
__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 11:16 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Is your tv connected to a amplifier? The green light needs to be off or it will interfere with dish signal. Maybe check that out. Just a look see willdo the trick.best of luck
__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 06:26 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 38
Can you see the Directv menu on your TV screen?

If so, check that your box is setup correctly for the dish you are using. When I take my Directv on the road, I take a SD box out of the house and connect it to a 18x20 3LNB dish. This dish is different than the one on my house so I have to go into setup and tell the box that I now have a multiswitch, 18x20 3LNB dish. Once this is done the box powers the dish and I can begin getting signal strength readings.
bwbarnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:03 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11
Finally got some time to fiddle with it, due to working everyday, and Picked up the signal strength meter from RadioShack. Found out something is different with the wiring from docking station to living room than in my old camper. Had cable ran from dish to signal meter to satellite main and no power to meter. Bypassed the docking station straight to the box and got power. With that out of the way I got to tuning the dish. Got a beep turned the know down till no beep and tuned to get a beep again: so on and son. I finally had the knob and sensitivity turned all the way down and had a solid beep. Walked inside, with meter still beeping, and no signal on directv box. I have an sd box with an 18" dish. Set on multi switch and single tuner.
tylerb22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:34 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Freds342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Sounds like you're looking at a Dish Network signal. The little meters can't discriminate the difference between Dish and Direct.
__________________

__________________
2005 Georgetown 342DS XL, Full Banks Package
2005 Liberty Renegade 4X Toad
1989 Wrangler Sahara Toad
1984 19.5' Beachcraft i/o 5.o liter, 4-bbl (and you thought your Moho sucked gas!)
D/W Carole and Maggie the Teacup Lab (Black Chihuahua)
Freds342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


×