Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2016, 10:24 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,807
No holes needed.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...pEoxj0bxdl2P9A
__________________

__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 08:38 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 244
Just to be clear... the internal plate with button and red or green light is not an amp. It is a power injector/input selector switch. The plate sends 12v to the antennas internal amp. If your replacement antenna has an internal amp that requires a 12v injector, you can use the antenna input of that plate and the plate will power the antenna. If your antenna does not have an internal amp and you must use an external amp, use the cable input and turn the plate off.
__________________

__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL with overloaded tires from factory
2015 Chevy Silverado
Paul GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 09:28 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Otis, Oregon
Posts: 22
antennae connection

To use our tailgater I had to put in a separate connector. Ours is a Lex 265. It just would not work even with the switch off.
__________________
otisite2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 10:03 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by otisite2016 View Post
To use our tailgater I had to put in a separate connector. Ours is a Lex 265. It just would not work even with the switch off.
Had the same issue when we got our Tailgater, I just fished one end of the 50 foot coax inside to hook directly to the box.

While I was doing that I found two splitters with loose connection as well as one inside of a cubby hole for the water connections where the park cable hooks up.
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 10:41 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 641
Let me offer this info: A couple of months ago when I bought my DISH portable satellite system the DISH people informed me that I needed to upgrade the dish on the house and receivers in the house as they were old technology. They sent a DISH tech guy out to do all of this at no charge 😃. While he was here he offered to help set up the portable dish. During the set up we could not get the system to work using the outside cable port. He checked and this was RG-6 cable. We ran the cable from the dish straight to the receiver and all worked well. He removed the plate with two male threaded connectors from the wall, used the end of the cable coming from the outside port without the splitter/amplifier and it worked also. There is something about those splitters that prevent certain antenna's from working, such as my dish. We ran a new dedicated cable to the wall plate for the dish. There was a connection on the plate labeled "SAT IN" with nothing hooked to it so we used that for the dish. And yes I have one of those non-adjustable roof mounted factory antenna's which work less than a metal clothes hanger.
__________________
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2016, 10:55 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
Let me offer this info: A couple of months ago when I bought my DISH portable satellite system the DISH people informed me that I needed to upgrade the dish on the house and receivers in the house as they were old technology. They sent a DISH tech guy out to do all of this at no charge 😃. While he was here he offered to help set up the portable dish. During the set up we could not get the system to work using the outside cable port. He checked and this was RG-6 cable. We ran the cable from the dish straight to the receiver and all worked well. He removed the plate with two male threaded connectors from the wall, used the end of the cable coming from the outside port without the splitter/amplifier and it worked also. There is something about those splitters that prevent certain antenna's from working, such as my dish. We ran a new dedicated cable to the wall plate for the dish. There was a connection on the plate labeled "SAT IN" with nothing hooked to it so we used that for the dish. And yes I have one of those non-adjustable roof mounted factory antenna's which work less than a metal clothes hanger.
That is what I was thinking but had no way to check it in the time I had.

I will rewire after our last trip this year........
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 12:04 PM   #17
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 3,482
The splitters they use in our RV's have an upper limit of about 900 mhz. Sat receivers range up to about 2000 MHz, so the cheaper splitters block the higher ranges.

I'd think you'd be able to replace the existing splitters with higher bandwidth models and use the existing cabling.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a 2500 Mega-Cab CTD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 12:08 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,222
I don't think that is the problem. At least with DirecTV, the LNB gets it's power through the coax, and in all but the SWM units there are two voltages, 12 and 15 which select the satellite band and conventional splitters will block the dc component. I know that Dish uses a different method but they still need to power the LNB and the splitter will block the DC power going to the dish.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.