Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2016, 05:49 PM   #1

New Dometic AC Problem

Wow. Lots of failed Dometic AC unit threads. I think I might be adding another.

Took the Vengeance out for its initial test run to Ocean Lakes. Everything appeared to go great except the bedroom AC. I believe its a 13.5K unit. It only cools the master bedroom and does not push air through the duct work in the ceiling.

I turned it on Saturday and the fan came on. But you could hear the compressor run for maybe a minute or so and then it would shut off. After another minute or two, it would turn back on. This continued for a few times until I just turned it off. It only got cool but never really cold.

My guess is a coolant leak so the refrigerant is low. But I'm no AC expert. Our W&P started freezing up and a leak was determined to be the cause.

This is a brand new unit so if there's an issue, I'm obviously under warranty. Any idea from those far more knowledgeable than me as to the problem?
KFX450RXC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:22 PM   #2