Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 10:39 AM   #21
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Brand New Sony HDTV...Here is what my initial problem is:

I hooked up a new HD TV in my new to me camper this weekend and raised the antenna, positioned it, and turned the booster on and had great signal. All the channels I had in my previous camper on the same camping spot showed up on the new tv. After watching tv for about two hours I lost all my channels but one that comes in pretty garbled. I went and grabbed my neighbors flat screen and plugged it in and got nothing. His tv has an antenna meter and it was showing 4 percent and at his camper it shows like 70-80 percent. It just does not make any sense, all the channels looked great, then boom, they were gone.
__________________

__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 01:46 PM   #22
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwrboatfan View Post
Brand New Sony HDTV...Here is what my initial problem is:

I hooked up a new HD TV in my new to me camper this weekend and raised the antenna, positioned it, and turned the booster on and had great signal. All the channels I had in my previous camper on the same camping spot showed up on the new tv. After watching tv for about two hours I lost all my channels but one that comes in pretty garbled. I went and grabbed my neighbors flat screen and plugged it in and got nothing. His tv has an antenna meter and it was showing 4 percent and at his camper it shows like 70-80 percent. It just does not make any sense, all the channels looked great, then boom, they were gone.
Certainly sounds like the smoke genie escaped from the Antenna system.
Before I called for the smoke genie specialists I would check connections on the roof and at the splitter. If the cable pulled out of the knurled (threaded part) of the connector you would get these indications as well as a bad amp.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 03:38 PM   #23
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Oh yea, I am going to check all the connections before I buy a new antenna head that is for sure. I picked up a new wall plate already at my RV dealer because they said that is where my amp was at. I am going to check the connections at the plate (splitter) and if they look good, I am not going to replace the wall plate. Wouldn't it be safe to say if I am getting 12volts at the antenna head, then the plate is fine? Or could it be the circuit board in that wall plate? Worst case scenario I am out around $80.00 bucks. That is replacing the wall plate, and new antenna head with a Wingman already on it.
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 04:14 PM   #24
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwrboatfan View Post
Oh yea, I am going to check all the connections before I buy a new antenna head that is for sure. I picked up a new wall plate already at my RV dealer because they said that is where my amp was at. I am going to check the connections at the plate (splitter) and if they look good, I am going not going to replace the wall plate. Wouldn't it be safe to say if I am getting 12volts at the antenna head, then the plate is fine? Or could it be the circuit board in that wall plate? Worst case scenario I am out around $80.00 bucks. That is replacing the wall plate, and new antenna head with a Wingman already on it.
As you can see from the previously attached manual for the wall plate, the wall plate contains only the switch and the power supply. The actual "amp" is in the white plastic antenna head.

As I stated previously, most RV maintenance departments are not very good at Audio Visual system repairs. They are remove and replace trouble shooters for the most part. The wall plate is the cheapest component level replacement part. The fact that it won't fix your problem is not THEIR problem.

Electronic parts are not returnable, so when you come back for a new head unit (the next most expensive replaceable part) it "should" fix it since you replaced everything now. If it doesn't; then it is in the shop for a wire check at 150 bucks an hour. All win-win for them; lose-lose for you.

Check the cable ends and for power at the roof antenna head before you do anything.

As to the Winegard Wingman (aftermarket type), it just snaps on and is easily removed. If you do need to buy one; the new ones come with the UHF magnifying elements already installed. I am SURE you could sell your old Wingman here.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:12 PM   #25
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
As to the Winegard Wingman (aftermarket type), it just snaps on and is easily removed. If you do need to buy one; the new ones come with the UHF magnifying elements already installed. I am SURE you could sell your old Wingman here.
This link is to a new OEM Antenna head and Wingman. This should attach to my existing elevator tubes I would think. I thought this was pretty good deal since it has the head and the Wingman already attached. I do not currently have a Wingman on my antenna (never needed it on my old camper because I got all the channels).

I hear you on the RV dealer, not there fault, just how they operate. He told me I could return the wall plate if I did not install it, which is what I am going to do after doing my tests if nothing is wrong with mine in the camper.
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 05:26 PM   #26
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
If you don't have a wingman now and you find a bad wire is your problem, I highly recommend you do get one. It will double the miles from the station that you can get digital programming.

If your amp is bad; the replacement head is a 2 bolt direct swap and it takes about as long to say it as do it.

Remove the coax cable; remove 2 through bolts holding the head on; and reverse the procedure with the new antenna head.

Watch TV...

Post number two in the thread has everything you need to know to be an expert in Digital RV television.

Winegard Wingman UHF Antenna Booster
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:01 PM   #27
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,274
I ran into a problem where the inner wire had completely corroded at the roof connection....on both sides. I ran a jumper wire directly between the antennae and the booster connection, and the TV worked great. I removed the coaxial between the antennae and roof connection as I had to start somewhere, and found the corroded wire. After cutting the wire back to good and installing a new fitting, I still did not have good reception, so I pulled my microwave out, and found the middle wire was gone on the inside section also. Another nip and tuck, and all has been good. I have recaulked the boot so I hopefully won't get water in there again.
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:20 PM   #28
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnguy View Post
I ran into a problem where the inner wire had completely corroded at the roof connection....on both sides. I ran a jumper wire directly between the antennae and the booster connection, and the TV worked great. I removed the coaxial between the antennae and roof connection as I had to start somewhere, and found the corroded wire. After cutting the wire back to good and installing a new fitting, I still did not have good reception, so I pulled my microwave out, and found the middle wire was gone on the inside section also. Another nip and tuck, and all has been good. I have recaulked the boot so I hopefully won't get water in there again.
Boy I hope mine is not a corroded wire after the roof connection! It goes across my ceiling! I never thought about that wire being corroded from the roof connection to the antenna head. I will check that to. Thanks!
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 06:21 PM   #29
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
If you don't have a wingman now and you find a bad wire is your problem, I highly recommend you do get one. It will double the miles from the station that you can get digital programming.

If your amp is bad; the replacement head is a 2 bolt direct swap and it takes about as long to say it as do it.

Remove the coax cable; remove 2 through bolts holding the head on; and reverse the procedure with the new antenna head.
I defiantly am planning on getting a Wingman, even if I do not end up having to replace the amp.
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:18 AM   #30
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
Problem solved!!! It was my antenna head. I had 12 volts at the antenna head. Put the new head and wingman on and my TV works great now. I have all my channels back. Thanks everyone for their help!!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4026965586.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	11238
__________________

__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.