Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2014, 10:03 PM   #21
RKR
Senior Member
 
RKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Open Ground Code Still

It's right next to the main OC. They tied into the main and added a box because there wasn't any lugs available on the breaker panel in the garage. I knew double lugging isn't a good practice.
I'm looking forward to getting this resolved and sharing the solution though. I ain't no lectrician for sure

Sent from my high tech gadget
__________________

__________________
RKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 10:12 PM   #22
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKR View Post
It's right next to the main OC. They tied into the main and added a box because there wasn't any lugs available on the breaker panel in the garage. I knew double lugging isn't a good practice.
I'm looking forward to getting this resolved and sharing the solution though. I ain't no lectrician for sure

Sent from my high tech gadget
Me either, that's for sure! I've just seen the neutral and ground connected in a lot of main boxes. Have no idea if that is causing your problem.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 10:40 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Often the Neutral Bus bar has a extra screw that ties it to the ground via a box connection. Look for a bonding screw on the bus bar.

If the ground and neutral are actually tied together at your new box that is the same as the service entrance as far as the Progressive is concerned. Are there any LED lights in the cable or the power entrance port on the RV? Maybe they are providing a leakage path?
__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 11:11 PM   #24
RKR
Senior Member
 
RKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
B and B , I don't have an LED light on the crossover . I'll check that bus bar in the morning. Hopefully it's the crossover from 50 to 30 amp that's giving me problems. It's the original one the dealer gave me when I bought the 5er.
If I bypass the EMS everything runs fine. I let the 5er plugged in for 2 days and ran the AC for one day.


Sent from my high tech gadget
__________________
RKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 08:04 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
My install last night went well without a hitch. Mine didn't come with the jumper wire for the time delay so I'm going to call Progressive and ask them about it. My time delay isn't but a few seconds before the surge protector kicks in and I'd like a longer delay than that. Here are a couple pics of my install. Hope you got yours fixed RKR. Oh and the wires above the Surge Protector are just Satellite cables. I wired mine coming out of the transfer switch so I would have surge protection from the generator and shore power.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1605.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	62635

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG1615.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	189.2 KB
ID:	62636
__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 08:23 AM   #26
RKR
Senior Member
 
RKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Looks great bud. It looks like you at least one water line near yours. I have many. My hot water heater and water source is next to the outlet. I have all kinds of water lines in my compartment. I could of installed my EMS on the floor but opted for the wall to try and minimize the risk of the EMS getting wet if I spring a leak. I'll probably install some type of cover over the EMS in case I get a leak some day.
I still have my open ground issue. Had a late day at work yesterday so I couldn't do anything. I'll be back on it today for sure.



Sent from my high tech gadget
__________________
RKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 08:30 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
Yes there are several water lines in my compartment over the transfer switch and probably my new EMS also but if I spring a leak .
Hope your able to get your issue solved. Have you called the tech support at Progressive yet. You'll need to be at your RV when you call them. I'm sure they would be glad to help you with it they are real good at customer tech support.
__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 11:47 AM   #28
RKR
Senior Member
 
RKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Yapster, I haven't called Progressive yet. From the intel here and other sources the issue is before the power gets to the EMS.
It looks like my retired electrical contractor neighbor is back from fishing. His pickup was in the driveway when I left for work this am. Hopefully he'll be home when I get off work. He has all those fancy gadgets for tracking stuff down and I'm going to have him check the main box that new one is tied to for problems.
Those water lines are in a crazy place. My inverter would also be screwed if I had a good leak. I will pull down that divider wall next time and take look before I buy the next 5er. If I decide to keep this one for any length of time I'll probably look at trying to re-route the water lines somehow.


Sent from my high tech gadget
__________________
RKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 01:21 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
That's good hopefully he can fix your issue for you.
__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 08:07 PM   #30
RKR
Senior Member
 
RKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Update :

After swapping 50 to 30 amp crossover with one from Progressive still open ground code.
I had my retired electrical contractor neighbor come over with his volt meter and check everything. Everything is wired correctly all the way back to the box. We called Progressive and the neighbor and I followed their trouble shooting steps and still get the open ground code.
Sending unit back to Progressive for replacement.



Sent from my high tech gadget
__________________

__________________
RKR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.