Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 11:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Outlets not working

I have a 2011 301 RLS Lacrosse. This morning I find outlets on one side of the TT aren't working. All of the appliances are working properly, all fuses are good to go. Any thoughts??? Thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
MikeD71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 11:39 AM   #2
Campfire Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South East Michigan
Posts: 437
Sounds like the GFI has been tripped. Check around for the plug that has it and hit the reset button. Guessing it's in your bath area. And ,welcome, glad you're here!

John
__________________

__________________
AVid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 11:45 AM   #3
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVid View Post
Sounds like the GFI has been tripped. Check around for the plug that has it and hit the reset button. Guessing it's in your bath area. And ,welcome, glad you're here!

John
GFCI or the breaker for that circuit are the two that I'd check.
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 06:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
LJ_Sha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 109
I just had this happen to me and it was 1 leg of the 50 amp not working. I hooked everything up like I would at home and all was fine. Once the 50 amp was hooked back up it went back to 1/2 the outlets not working. Had the campground host check it with a meter to make sure.
__________________
2008 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab Duramax Diesel / Allison Transmission
2008 Cedar Creek 32TK 5th Wheel
LJ_Sha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:48 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Guys thanks for tips, however still no power to one side of outlets. I have reset breakers, GFI socket, and actually moved camper sites. I am not sure if this is an indicator but the GFI socket has a amber light and it goes off when I push the reset button in, but comes back on when I release it. I'm pulling my hair out!!
__________________
MikeD71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:49 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mduff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeD71 View Post
Guys thanks for tips, however still no power to one side of outlets. I have reset breakers, GFI socket, and actually moved camper sites. I am not sure if this is an indicator but the GFI socket has a amber light and it goes off when I push the reset button in, but comes back on when I release it. I'm pulling my hair out!!
Your GFI is doing its job. You have something that's causing it to trip. Unplug appliances that are on this circuit and try to reset; a GFI can protect multiple outlets. An appliance may be shorted and causing the issue. If it continues to trip you have an issue with your wiring or plugs; bad ground, short, etc. this means pulling plates and testing.
__________________
Mike and Brenda

TV - 2013 Silverado 1500, 5.3L
TT - 2012 Wildwood 26 TBSS
mduff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 06:53 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
MikeD71, when you mention that you don't have power to one side of outlets, are you saying you don't have power to either the top or lower part of the same receptacle? If that is the case then it could be that way purposely so that you don't plug in two appliances in the same receptacle.....my receptacles in the slide out bedroom are like that....you can take the receptacle out and check if a tab has been removed from the back of the receptacle......
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 07:19 AM   #8
Member
 
oldprof1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sebright Ontario, Canada
Posts: 84
GFCI's can be or go faulty especially if subjected to cold damp weather. I have had several do this. With the power OFF to the entire TT remove the GFCI from the box that it is in. The wires on the back go into holes or under screws marked LINE and LOAD. remove the LOAD wires leaving the line wires connected. Ensure that the wires do not touch the box. Taping around the GFCI will help. Turn the power on and push the reset. If the GFCI resets it's good there is a fault on the LOAD side. GFCI's will not reset without power. If the GFCI doesn't reset the problem is on the line side.
__________________

__________________
oldprof1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.