Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-29-2015, 04:17 PM   #1

Palomino water heater question

Hello, newbie here on the boards. I had a question. I just bought a New to me 297 Palomino Solaire and we took it out for a two day trial trip. I am not getting hot water and I am trying to figure out which direction do the three water valves are supposed to be turned to (side ways or up and down) at the hot water heater. Also we turned on the inside toggle switch and the red light came on for the water heater and a fault light also went on. I later found out (when I got home) that there is a switch for the water heater on the unit (on or off) when hooked up to shore power. I never turned that switch on so I am not sure if I would have caused any damage by turning on the inside switch.
We were hooked up at a trailer park so we had shore power and everything else worked great. I have gone through the owners manual, researched the web and found no real answers. Help? Thanks
PapaG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 04:27 PM   #2
Site Team

The valves are closed when the handles are perpendicular with the piping and open when parallel with the piping. For normal usage you want the cold water inlet and hot water outlet valves open...and the bypass valve between the hot and cold water pipes closed (like in the pic)

This link will help explain the two switches for the Suburban hot water heater.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ore-36197.html

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 04:29 PM   #3

Hello. The center valve should be closed...it is the one that joins the red and blue lines(normally). The other two are open.